Skip to content

Six Weeks In

November 6, 2010

So we have been official homeowners for about six weeks now.

Some observations:

  • Having our own house makes me really, really happy. This low-level dissatisfaction/angst that I’ve been carrying around for over 10 years? Poof! Gone. Such happy peace to come home to our own home. To be exact: to our own HOUSE. Living in a house makes a huge difference.
  • Also making a huge difference: having a yard. Ohhh, I love our yard. It is so green and cute and pretty. And getting wilder every day. Which I am coming to terms with. I actually prefer a slightly wild yard, but it was so neat and tidy and well-weeded when we moved in, I struggle a little with watching the clover take over parts of the yard. However, to be honest, it looks better with more green (and actually, we moved in right before the rains hit, so I’m sure that has something to do with the greening up, too). It was a little bare in many places. I’m keeping up with weeding where it needs to be weeded, but let’s be honest, a little clover groundcover here and there can’t hurt things. Right? Right. Actually I’m going to look that up. In my many garden books I’ve been collecting over the years, in anticipation of the day when I could actually use them.
  • We have planted so far: bougainvillea, a Meyer lemon tree, some salvia, some ferns, some other pretty things which I can’t remember, and some bulbs. Which the squirrels are happily digging up for me. Thank you, squirrels. Not much makes me happier than working with my hands, and I love digging around. I’m going to make a garden-waste compost bin and am considering a worm bin. I think I’ll leave the kitchen scraps to the green recycle bin (or for chickens, when/if we get chickens). Too many raccoons waiting delicious kitchen scraps.
  • We have gotten to the point of unpacking where we can function quite well with what we’ve got unpacked, and now are working on the “other” boxes. The ones full of cables, extra extension cords, random items… we are missing a few things and so I’m sure they are happily tucked away in these “other” boxes. Thank goodness for the garage!
  • And another thing: thank goodness for heat! Wow, we love it. It makes me happy every morning to wake up, turn up the the heat and be warm when I get out of the shower. What a novelty!
  • I’m learning so much: how to put in a new lawn sprinkler pump, how to fix the heater, how to amend garden soil, how to take care of wild backyard birds… I am loving all of it so very much.
  • And, the question which is apparently on everyone’s mind as soon as they hear where we moved to: yes, actually, the commute is working out okay. I get home a little later than I’d like on some days (if I have errands after work), but I’m adjusting to traffic quite well and my ‘reading’ time has doubled (at least) so… not much to complain about there.

I hate to say it because it sounds more materialistic and object-oriented than I’m comfortable with, but I think I actually really needed a house in order to be happy. Isn’t that silly? Some people can be happy in apartments or condos. I am not one of them. I really need the yard to putter around, I really need to feel like I can fix stuff when it breaks (rather than rely upon the mercy of landlords who will probably do a shoddy job), I really need to not be anxious all the time about noisy neighbors (or being too noisy ourselves). I really truly wanted a house so much, and now that we have our cute little bird house, I feel happy, relaxed, excited, and that little piece of me that was deeply longing all the time, has quieted. What a relief.

Having a pretty kitchen doesn’t hurt, either.

(yard photos coming later this week)

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    November 7, 2010 6:59 am

    BIG sigh of relief, and happiness for you and Terri. It’s awfully hard to nest comfortably and well in a rental

  2. November 7, 2010 1:08 pm

    Your home sounds adorable and I’m so happy for you both! You are going to have so much fun with the holidays coming up and being able to decorate inside and out! 🙂 Wishing you many blessings.

    • November 9, 2010 8:00 am

      We’re very excited. Thank you for the good wishes!

  3. November 7, 2010 5:12 pm

    im so so so happy for you both. we should all be comfortable in our homes, whatever they may be.

    im sure the things you’ll learn in the coming years will surprise you. jay can fix just about anything now and i learned things i never imagined i would, like how to properly install screens ( fyi: you need a spline roller).

    • November 9, 2010 8:00 am

      Thanks for the hint! I just ordered a book on beginning carpentry…

  4. November 7, 2010 7:07 pm

    You aren’t materialistic. I think it’s normal to “need” a space that is only yours.

    I am one of those people. I had to have what I have now to be truly happy. House, Mr., Offspring…it makes me complete.

    • November 9, 2010 8:01 am

      Good to know I’m not the only one. I’ve always had a strong need for a real home base. It feels good to be settled!

  5. November 8, 2010 3:54 am

    It sounds like you’ve found your “happy” place. Hurray! And all the fun stuff you are learning. After 19 years in my house, I learned how to unclog the disposal last Thursday. It was a most disgusting job, so I won’t be posting a tutorial on this one.

    • November 9, 2010 8:01 am

      Ugh. Let’s hope we don’t have to figure that one out anytime soon.

  6. trapunto permalink
    November 8, 2010 9:19 am

    See, clover is nitrogen-fixing, so weeds = fertilizer. This is what I keep telling myself, and since it’s true, I usually believe it. They put clover seed in cover-crop mixes, after all. You should see my “fallow” side yard. I love to hear you talk about your new house, it is good to see someone discovering that kind of homemaking happiness.

    • November 9, 2010 8:01 am

      That’s what I’m telling myself too! Plus, clover is pretty.

  7. November 8, 2010 9:31 am

    It is so nice to hear you chirping happily! About those bulbs, get yourself some alum from the grocery store, it should be in the spice section. Dissolve in water and dip your bulbs in the alum water before you plant them. Squirrels do not like the taste of alum and I think they can smell it too. When we remember to dip our bulbs in alum before planting we don’t have any problems. When we forget, they all get dug up and eaten.

    • November 9, 2010 8:02 am

      We are chirping so happily! Thanks for the bulb tips. I’ll get some and start treating the ones I see pulled up. Naughty squirrels.

Leave a Reply

