Skip to content

Thanksgiving Plans

November 9, 2010

And so we embark on the beginning of our first holiday season in our new house. We haven’t decided much, except that we want to spend the holidays actually in our house. Everyone is welcome over at our house! All holiday orphans, come on over!

I think all local family members are otherwise engaged this Thanksgiving, so we are planning a really nice low-key day at home. Usually I lose my mind and make all this food, because, well, it’s Thanksgiving. We don’t have turkey of course, but we love the sides. However, there’s always too much for just us, and Terri’s tummy is very outspoken about things with too much fat, and this year we’re gluten-free. So.

We’re going to get our Netflix movies early so we are sure to have something cozy and fun to snuggle up with, and then I’m thinking something like this for a menu:

  • A veggie something-or-other main dish. Perhaps this roasted veggie couscous dish or maybe sweet potato gnocchi with brussels sprouts… something not too difficult and yummy, but slightly special.
  • A salad. We have this favorite holiday salad that I make every year. It’s basically a sweet-and-sour Romaine chopped salad with a bunch of broccoli. But it’s sooooooo good.
  • Pie. I haven’t had pumpkin pie in a while — it’s not Terri’s favorite and I can’t eat a whole pie myself, right? But pumpkin pie is good for breakfast so I’m really making myself brunch food, right? And then whatever kind of pie Terri wants. Maybe lemon meringue.

That’s about it. Maybe one other thing if we think of something we want. So here’s the plan: sleep in, have tea, watch the birds. Put some food in the oven. Watch a movie. Have some yummy food. Watch another movie. Maybe put up holiday lights outdoors. Snuggle in bed with the heat on. Watch another movie and then go to sleep.

That sounds like a day full of things to be grateful for.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2010 8:48 am

    I want that salad recipe! Also, the GF bread didn’t rise, but I think that’s my fault. So I’m going to try again, because from the unrisen bread taste, I think it’s a great recipe. πŸ™‚ I’ll e-mail it to you if you want to give it a go; I’m very new to baking w/ yeast, so that’s probably why I didn’t quite pull it off.

    • November 9, 2010 8:49 am

      I’ll email it to you! It’s pretty easy. I haven’t made GF yeasted bread yet but have had great success with a banana bread recipe. Yum.

  2. November 9, 2010 2:19 pm

    Oh the sweet potato gnocci with brussel sprouts sounds yummy…and being comfy watching videos sounds like a great way to spend the day! Happy Thanksgiving to you both! πŸ™‚

  3. November 9, 2010 7:52 pm

    I’m intrigued by this salad…you should join the upcoming Thanksgiving menu blog hop and post it.

    We do a simple Thanksgiving as well. It’s just us. It’s my favorite day of the year.

  4. November 10, 2010 6:58 am

    i could totally eat a whole pie by myself.

    jay has to work thanksgiving evening. im not sure what we’re doing. maybe something the night before? we havent decided yet. ever since i found out that jay will be working ive sort of been mentally skipping the holiday.

  5. November 10, 2010 7:00 am

    Your TG plans sound perfect. Both of those recipes look delicious. We’ll be having our traditional TG dinner of vegan enchiladas, beans and rice and pumpkin pie for dessert made from a real pumpkin not from a can. Oh so good! I also like your thinking of pumpkin pie for breakfast. Our vegan pie if basically pumpkin, tofu, spices and a little agave in a graham cracker crust. totally good for you breakfast πŸ™‚

  6. November 10, 2010 7:11 pm

    I will post the salad recipe, it’s pretty delicious.
    Steph: send me the recipe! Since it’ll be just me eating the pie, I’d love to try out the vegan version.

  7. AKM permalink
    November 12, 2010 9:02 am

    I’m still trying to hammer out my T’giving menu. I love Tofurky slices and the Tofurky pizza and Tofurky sausages. The famous Tofurky roast? Not so much, and I haven’t a clue why. I considered a Field Celebration Roast, but one of those little thing costs around $20. I’m also searching in vain for a veganized recipe for chess pie. My aunt NEEDS my chess pie every year, but I will not make it the old-fashioned way anymore. So I’m still searching…

  8. November 12, 2010 3:00 pm

    Yum Yum…the gnocchi sounds particularly lovely. I may have to give it a try. Happy (early) thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

