Skip to content

The Holiday Salad

November 10, 2010

Not-very-elegantly-titled: Crunchy Romaine Toss. This is not a healthy salad, I’ll just warn you now. But it’s surprisingly yummy.

For the salad:

1 cup chopped walnuts or pecans
1 pkg uncooked, broken ramen noodles (you could substitute something else crunchy here if you want to go gluten-free)
4 Tbls butter or butter-flavored Earth Balance
4 green onions, chopped
1 bunch broccoli tops, roughly chopped
1 head romaine lettuce, chopped (sometimes I use 2 heads)
Sweet-and-sour dressing (below)

Brown nuts and noodles in the butter, careful to not burn (they burn quickly). Cool and drain on paper towels. Combine all ingredients and toss with sweet-and-sour dressing just before serving. This salad is best tossed with dressing, rather than having dressing on the side.

Sweet-and-Sour Dressing
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup sugar (yes, a half a cup, I told you it wasn’t healthy)
1/4 cup rice wine vinegar (or white wine — I like rice wine better)
1/2 Tbls soy sauce

Blend well. Toss with salad just before serving to retain crispness.

This is our favorite holiday salad. We have it every year and every year it gets eaten all up. It is best eaten the same day, otherwise it gets soggy. Most likely you will have no trouble eating it all on the same day.  This serves about four people, or two people who really love this salad.

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2010 7:49 pm

    Ha!

    Must try.

  2. November 10, 2010 8:26 pm

    Great post, this looks delicious. Love your blog banner pic. Thanks for sharing.

    • November 11, 2010 9:45 am

      Thank you, Walnut Lover! My banner is my Halloween one… need to change it soon…

  3. November 11, 2010 3:33 am

    I made a variation of this using Napa cabbage. It was so good — and to think, I haven’t thought about Ramen noodles since college.

  4. November 11, 2010 9:45 am

    It would be good with Napa cabbage, I’m sure. I might add that next time. Yum!

  5. November 11, 2010 10:37 am

    i want this.

    i really really love uncooked ramen noodles. i love the crunch. browning them to make them crunchier sounds like heaven. cheap heaven.

  6. November 11, 2010 3:01 pm

    Oh yay! Thanks for posting. 🙂 Now trying to figure GF alternative to crunch ramen noodles. lol

  7. AKM permalink
    November 12, 2010 8:59 am

    I make the sister-version of this salad with cole slaw mix every Thanksgiving and Christmas. Through the year, I make it for potlucks and just for funsies as well. It IS awesome.

    I also DID love that broccoli salad with mayo, bacon, raisins, onions, etc. I haven’t made it since I went vegan, but my health-food store deli had it all veganized last week! It totally made my day.

Leave a Reply

