Skip to content

Winter Transitions

November 14, 2010

Lots of mid-November photos below. Click to view any of them. Some notes:

  • We now have lots of bird feeders. This makes our yard a pretty lively place any time during the day. We *love* this.
  • Cleo the cat (bottom photo) really loves this too. And would love to have lunch al fresco, if you know what I mean.
  • The experimental garden has a row of radishes. That’s all that came up from my haphazard planting. We’ll see how they do. They are a bit snail-eaten now, but it’s the roots that count, right?
  • The clover is taking over the spot by the hydrangea. I’m not sure what to do about this. Leave it? Rake it out? Mulch it over?
  • Today a tiny hummingbird allowed me to take his photo as he perched. See if you can find him in the gallery.
  • I don’t know why there are two photos of the orange tree. Ignore one of them.
  • Our roses decided to bloom. Yay! One of them is still a mystery. I’m thinking either yellow or perhaps a Peace-type rose. Thoughts?

One thing I am really enjoying about living out here is that we have a bit more seasonality. It gets hotter in the summer and colder in the winter. I haven’t had a real winter in a really long time. Not like it’s going to snow here or anything, but we’ll get frost. Yes, we’ll be protecting our new little lemon tree (not pictured). Today it is windy and the leaves are blowing everywhere. It makes me feel so cozy.

I’m very curious how the winter will be here at the new house. So far, so good. As long as the heater keeps working, we can take anything. God I love having that heater. It’s SO nice to not have to wear a winter coat to go into the kitchen.


12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2010 2:56 pm

    Ahhhh — a greeen garden. My landscape is turning grey. No leaves left here. Your yard looks lovely and I’m glad you’re enjoying it. I was just glad to get the final lawn mowing done and take a break from the outside work.

    • November 14, 2010 9:10 pm

      I am getting the feeling that yard work never stops here. 🙂

  2. November 14, 2010 3:21 pm

    i say leave the clover. i love the lush, green look it provides.

    • November 14, 2010 9:10 pm

      I just raked it in… I have a feeling it’s here to stay in one form or another, regardless of what I do!

  3. November 14, 2010 3:29 pm

    My favourite photo is the one of the rosebud! What a lovely backyard. 😀 I’m sitting in my new backyard right now: it’s so green and gorgeous, I couldn’t be happier.

    • November 14, 2010 9:11 pm

      Having a backyard is pretty awesome! We love it. I am so sad on the days I get home too late to go outside for a bit.

  4. November 14, 2010 3:58 pm

    How beautiful!

    You speak often about the heater…did your old place not have heat? Dang. I wouldn’t be able to handle not having heat. I am always cold. Unless it’s hot as the devil outside. But even then, the AC freezes me.

    • November 14, 2010 9:13 pm

      Our old place had a very sorry excuse for heat. Basically, we huddled in the bedroom all winter with a big oil radiator space heater because any other type blew out the fuses, and the wall radiator (electric) was worthless. Zero insulation and old drafty windows. Terri had to literally wear a hat and gloves inside. Our living room was 47 degrees routinely. We are soooooo grateful for a real heater and double-paned windows!

  5. November 14, 2010 7:44 pm

    Gosh I could just sit in your backyard for DAYS!!! It’s so very beautiful!!! I swear, everytime you post pictures of your new house and your backyard it just fills me with such warmth 🙂 And I think my favorite of these is the little hummingbird *cute* So excited that you’re growing radishes!!!! I’m a vegetable growing nut!

    • November 14, 2010 9:14 pm

      Oh thank you! I love your garden, you reminded me that I need to plan the winter garden a little better next year! We’ll see if the radishes come through…

  6. November 16, 2010 1:44 pm

    Look at your pretty yard! And how nice of that hummingbird to sit still for you. I was hoping to see that slimikin lemon tree of yours. Maybe once it has has lemons?

  7. November 16, 2010 1:45 pm

    Hey, that’s my word! I will take a photo of the slimikin just for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

