Skip to content

Cleo The Bird Hunter (no birds are harmed in this post)

November 20, 2010

We are not the only ones who love the birds at the new house. Cleo loves to sit here and keep careful watch over who comes to visit at the window feeder. She will often lose control of herself and pounce at the window, which of course startles the birds and makes her fall on the floor, after which she stalks away to the hallway to take a bath and pretend like this all never happened.

My ear is better. I’m a little hard-of-hearing in that ear, but it doesn’t hurt anymore. But I still have to go in. Words cannot describe how much I really do NOT want to go back in to have it fixed.

Cozy, rainy wet weekend here. Brownies in the oven, a friend coming over, movies to watch, books to finish, naps to take. I have time off this week too, so it’s going to be a really nice long easy week. Happy Thanksgiving Week everyone!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2010 1:58 pm

    Awww! We had a hummingbird feeder outside our living room window in Colorado, and our cat would sit on the back of a chair so he could watch them, very intently. πŸ˜€

  2. November 20, 2010 5:38 pm

    I’m so glad that your ear is not hurting anymore but I know you probably keep thinking about having to go back but I hope you can put it out of your mind and have a wonderful holiday. πŸ™‚ That is such a beautiful picture of Cleo! Your plants outside are so green and lush…you obviously don’t live anywhere near where I do in the northeast…fall has come and I miss the green already! Those brownies sound yummy…I wish I had some right now! πŸ™‚ Happy Thanksgiving to you and your loved ones. πŸ™‚

    • November 21, 2010 8:26 pm

      I’m trying not to think about it!! And no, we’re here in the Bay Area, where it’s still pretty green, although everything is losing leaves like crazy. Next month our yard will be more barren.

  3. November 20, 2010 6:53 pm

    im so glad your ear is feeling better and the picture of cleo is so cute. i love watching cats watch other things.

    we’ve been doing the cozy nesting thing too. we may get some snow/rain tonight and tomorrow. yay!

    • November 21, 2010 8:27 pm

      The kitties are hilarious watching the birds. They can’t help themselves and chatter at the birds and Cleo sometimes leaps at the window, which is hilarious.

  4. November 20, 2010 8:45 pm

    It’s posts like these that make me wish I weren’t allergic to cats!! They’re just so cute! glad to hear your ear is a little better. I read your other post and I’m just so sorry Daphne 😦 I was in near tears for you reading that 😦 I hope its’ not too bad this go round.

    • November 21, 2010 8:27 pm

      Ear is feeling better… but I’m DREADING going back in. Ugh.

  5. November 21, 2010 4:23 pm

    Glad that ear is better. I’ve been thinking about you and your awful experience. Have a great Thanksgiving. Keep the cat away from the turkey-bird too.

    • November 21, 2010 8:28 pm

      No turkey at our house — I think we’re having homemade gnocchi this year, yum! But Cleo begs to go outside; I’m afraid to let her out now that she’s all bird-crazy.

  6. November 21, 2010 6:26 pm

    Good to see you are a bit better…

    We have been thinking of getting a cat. Well, a kitten. The Offspring keep begging for one. I am not a cat person…at all. But they have a name for this cat that has yet to be found and I have to admit…I am beginning to soften.

    I am so dang shallow.

    • November 21, 2010 8:29 pm

      KITTEN!!! If a kitten can’t melt your heart, nothing can. One cat is a very easy pet. I love our kitties, they have so much personality and are *s0* sweet and funny.

  7. November 22, 2010 11:42 am

    Does Cleo “sing” to the birds too? Waldo and Dickens sometimes do but most of the time they just throw themselves at the window when a bird lands on the deck or a squirrel has the nerve to come close.

Leave a Reply

