Skip to content

Book: The Girl Who Played With Fire

November 23, 2010
tags:

How good was this audiobook?

So good that I hardly noticed my commute and hardly cared when traffic backed up.

So good that I raked up our entire yard full of leaves and crabapples and was sorry when the job was done.

So good that when I discovered that somehow the very last chapter did not get downloaded to my iPod, I freaked out and immediately searched out a free PDF of the book online so I could find out how it ended!

Because of course I already have the third book in the series, “The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest” already on my iPod and I double-checked and yes, all the chapters are there.

This was a really fun book. I liked it even better than the first book, if that’s possible. I know it’s gotten mixed reviews as the second book in the trilogy, but I really enjoyed it. All the characters were quirky and interesting, and Lisbeth Salander just gets better and better even as her situation gets worse and worse.

I *love* how she takes revenge. Girl takes no prisoners. She’s pretty much Made Of Awesome.

The late author, Stieg Larsson, likes to put in tons of details and the book is quite chatty for a thriller. That was okay with me, since all the details are interesting and fill out the characters nicely. It’s also a nice glimpse into Swedish culture. I lived in Finland for a year so some of this was familiar to me.

Especially all the coffee, which is mentioned at LEAST once a chapter, if not multiple times. Someone gets up and makes coffee. Gets to work and turns on the coffee machine. Goes to a cafe and gets a caffe latte. Gets home late and makes coffee and sandwiches. Gets together for coffee. Treats themselves to a fancy espresso machine. You get the picture. It is a highly caffeinated culture.

Love, love, loved it. Pure fun, and a really great audiobook. Simon Vance, the reader, is truly excellent. It’s not like fine literature or anything, but these books are well-written thrillers with excellent characters and a very exciting storyline. Perfect for when you need a little distraction from the commute or lots of yard work. For instance.

I’m *so* excited that I get to start listening to the third one right away. My next audiobook after that is Drood, which is also very exciting. I am super thrilled about audiobooks these days, can you tell?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2010 7:03 am

    I’m so glad to know these books are worth it. I always say I’m adding something to “the list” but this series is really next.

    I think I’ve gotten to a point emotionally where I can move past Harry Potter. After reading all 7 back to back it has been hard to go forward.

  2. November 24, 2010 8:40 am

    Definitely worth getting into.

    It’s hard to move past Harry Potter!! I am thinking of re-reading the whole series, but I might need to wait another year or two so it’s all fresh again.

  3. Lara Starr permalink
    November 24, 2010 8:56 pm

    I’m going to go back and count how many times Larsson writes that a character makes/drinks/is offered coffee, makes/eats/is offered a sandwich or takes a shower – seems its all those Swedes to when they’re not killing people or finding people who kill people. Loved the first book, didn’t love the 2nd, didn’t finish the 3rd. I know I’m in the minority and I usually love a good crime story.

Leave a Reply

