Skip to content

new houseguest

November 26, 2010

Earlier this week, an email from a woman whose dog I walk: “Help! A very cute sweet skinny lost kitty adopted me this weekend and I can’t keep her!”

I emailed friends, relatives. She emailed everyone she knew. A few bites, and then by this morning two things became clear:

1. She couldn’t keep the kitty any longer. She is allergic to cats, and her dog was going crazy with the cat out in the garage.
2. This kitty was way too sweet to go to a shelter.

So… yep. We could not abandon kitty to an uncertain fate, and agreed to foster the kitty until either his/her owners can be found, or a new home can be located.

A new home *may* have been located. I’ll give you one guess where that home might be:

Within 45 minutes of being let out of the cat carrier in one of the spare bedrooms, Mr. Kitty made himself quite at home, thankyouverymuch.

Possibly the most mellow cat I have ever met.

We’ll get him all checked out at the vet, check for a microchip, make sure it’s actually a boy (as we suspect), put up some flyers and a “found” ad on craigslist… but sometimes kitties just waltz into your life and there you are, one more cat in your household.

The other girls have not met the loverboy yet. That will be the ultimate test. But right now, things are good. He’s a love. I’m not sure we can give him up.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2010 9:33 pm

    He is cute. That handsome boy would be hard to part with.

  2. November 26, 2010 9:35 pm

    He’s beautiful! I can see why you have fallen in love already. When I was little I had a tabby cat that looked a lot like this one…I named him ‘Corky’…I have no idea why…but he was so affectionate and loving. Bless you for opening your hearts and home! 🙂

  3. November 27, 2010 8:37 am

    oh he’s adorable. id have a hard time getting rid of him. im a firm believer that if you already have a couple of cats, whats one more? i hope your ladies like him.

  4. November 27, 2010 10:17 am

    Isn’t he a sweetie? He looks a little like my Waldo. And obviously he and Terri are already BFF. I hope his owner can be found. If not, as long as he gets along with the girls I say he’s a keeper. Start thinking of a name! 😉

  5. November 27, 2010 3:02 pm

    He is a love. I think he’s found his home (in your hearts anyway). Lucky kitty.

  6. November 27, 2010 4:53 pm

    Oh, he is so adorable and friendly and looks so happy to be with you. Lucky you, lucky kitty!

  7. D'Arcy permalink
    November 28, 2010 10:25 am

    Oh, let’s just stop pretending you aren’t already wrapped around Mr. Kitty’s little paw! You are TOTALLY adopting him and you know it! You just can’t resist a creature in need of nurturing.

  8. November 28, 2010 7:15 pm

    Thanks everybody… yeah, I don’t think he’s going anywhere.

Leave a Reply

