Skip to content

Random Updates

November 29, 2010

  • Sir Thomas continues to feel better, but I think he’s got a bit of a long road ahead. He is perking up and getting more interested in his surroundings, and has shown hints of wanting to play (although he poops out after 30 seconds or so). He is just looking more like a regular cat and less like a poor little sad sickly orphan. I think he’s still napping about 23 hours out of the day. Right, in other words, very cat-like.
  • Another house project checked off the list: I installed a programmable thermostat today. The old one was starting to go out and we always had to go fiddle with it because it would just stop working until you tapped it or pressed it just right. So, time for a new one. Somehow I got the wires mixed up so there was a very tense half-hour or so while I tried to figure out what happened, the house getting colder, and the light growing dim (with the power off so I could fiddle with wiring). But I found a headlamp, figured out what happened, and miraculously we now have very steady heat.
  • Thanksgiving was nice and very low-key. I made salad, sweet potato gnocchi, stuffing and a vegan pumpkin pie. Everything was delicious but for some reason we haven’t felt like eating *any* leftovers. I know! What’s up with that? So… it was good on Thanksgiving, but not much leftover action happening here. Usually we are enthusiastic leftover-consumers so who knows what is up.
  • We have a hawk/raptor of some kind stalking the birdies in our yard. It’s heartbreaking, although he is breathtaking to look at. I hope he doesn’t get anybody  and decides to stalk somebody else’s yard.
  • I finished The Help — this is my reminder to myself to blog about it after book club on Wednesday.
  • I don’t feel very rested but so happy to have Mr. Thomas in the house, although he’s still in quarantine and hasn’t met the girls yet. Poor Cleo is wondering WHAT is UP and spends most of her time either under the bed or running around real low, looking deeply suspicious. I’m sure she’ll be happier once he’s feeling better and she can bully him around. Katie seems to be doing okay so far. She knows something is up, but hasn’t ventured to the door to sniff and try to figure out what could be IN THAT ROOM?!

I plan to keep the holidays really low-key this year. Everyone might just get gift cards. It might be that kind of a year. Yep. Kinda liking that idea. If you are on my list, consider yourself warned.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 8:16 am

    Did Thomas ever find the right house! I hope he is well soon. Your Thanksgiving dinner sounds yummy!

    • November 30, 2010 9:19 am

      We are a pretty good house for kitties to land at. The dinner was super yummy and your pie recipe worked great!

  2. November 30, 2010 2:03 pm

    Gift cards are genius. I love to get them and it’s such an easy gift to give. I mean, really…who couldn’t use $20 to spend at Target.

    So glad kitty man is on the mend.

    • December 1, 2010 1:12 pm

      I think I settled on something equally easy, but yeah, gift cards are perfect. I love getting them!

  3. December 1, 2010 12:48 pm

    i agree with dani, gift cards are the best. i especially love them when they are for everyday places like target. even if i end up buying something lame like laundry detergent or toilet paper, its nice to not have the money come directly out of my pocket.

    im intrigued by the help. it seems as if i see that book everywhere, but yet know no one who has read it.

    • December 1, 2010 1:12 pm

      I’ll post a review tomorrow or so. My book club is tonight so I’ll be able to put in the group opinion as well.

Leave a Reply

