Skip to content

Brain Dump

December 4, 2010

But first, a cute picture of Thomas exploring the living room. I couldn’t get a still shot of him, he was all over the place. He’s feeling lots better although he was totally tuckered out after a visit to the vet and exploring the house this afternoon. Now that he’s on the mend, I think what we’ll do is let him explore the house by himself for an hour or two every day for a few days, and then maybe by mid-week or so start doing supervised visits with the girls. It’s so important that it goes as smoothly as possible for everyone– no stressed kitties! Nobody is exactly healthy right now, so we need to take it slow. Although if I had my druthers I would bring him to bed to snuggle with us all RIGHT NOW.

Since last weekend was totally blown by unforeseen kitty adoption and sudden decision to install programmable thermostat (wow, what a difference, and GO ME for figuring how the wiring), the chores were piling up. Terri did a little bit of raking every day all week, so all I had to do today was finish raking up just a few stragglers and then put all the leaves in a bin. I keep meaning to make a compost bin but I might just start a pile since I am not getting around to making the bin thingie.

So anyway, this weekend is catching up on my half of the chores, doing a teensy bit more yard work (maybe), and lots of resting. And maybe putting up holiday decorations.

Oh, so many projects/things on my mind tonight. Notes to myself:

  • Investigate further how easy/hard it will be to replace the incredibly ugly mantel thingie currently above the fireplace. It is an eyesore.
  • Go thrifting for 4 decent chairs. They do not have to match. They need only to be solid, wooden, and paintable. Right now we have folding wooden chairs, which is fine for spare chairs but not really great for everyday. We are using our table much more now and it would be nice to have a decent place to sit.
  • Sooo many things to plan/budget for. After the holidays, we plan on saving our pennies for all these projects. It takes me a few weeks to get my mind back around serious pennypinching, but I’m totally up for the challenge (again). Especially since all the pennies will be going towards things for the house (and emergency funds, of course). That makes it kind of fun.
  • Things on this list include (both short-term and long-term): a new couch, gas fireplace insert, paint, hardwood flooring (the carpet is triggering all of our allergies/asthma), raised beds for garden, chicken coop, tearing out juniper bush(es) in the front yard, 2 new trees for the front yard. For starters.
  • I’m hoping to thrift/freecycle/scrounge whatever I can for building materials. There appears to be a lot of scrap wood in the rafters of the garage. I need to make an inventory.
  • I also need to investigate how to take out the juniper myself. It’s a thorny beast. Right now it has a big hole chopped out of one side where I tried to trim it. I got three blisters for my efforts, and now it’s even more ugly. Sigh.

I’m doing pretty good on the learn-by-mistake method of home ownership. So far I’ve managed to kill lovely large swathes of lawn by spreading fertilizer unevenly and thereby burning strips of it (the amount of lawn-maintenance I do not understand is staggering), chopped aforementioned hole in the juniper, chose to install the thermostat after dark on a cold night (imagine: power turned off in the house, novice electrician, tired, hungry, getting chilly, wires mixed up and mislabeled.), and I’m sure I’m forgetting a few other bits. But it’s fun, and I haven’t done anything too terrible. Yet.

Tomorrow I am going to make our front door holiday wreath with materials found in our yard, like this lovely one from Sunset. I’ll post a photo when it’s done. I also need to do some serious reading. Oh! Finished another audiobook today (while raking). Review TK soon. Next audiobook is Drood. I’m very excited about this.

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2010 5:17 am

    I’m really, really enjoying the fact that you’ve discovered scrap lumber and your instinct is to make an inventory 🙂

  2. Mom permalink
    December 5, 2010 7:54 am

    To do List: I believe you know where to come for item #1 and the flooring of item #4 🙂

    As for the Big Thorny Beast, if you wait until March, I’ll be you and I can tackle that one successfully.

    New-to-you hardwood chairs: Easy. Thrift Shops. Craigs List. Even street corners if someone is tossing. You might mention your wish to your customers. They may have other ideas, and maybe some castoffs 🙂

    There. Did my good deeds :).

  3. December 5, 2010 11:20 am

    Glad to hear that Thomas is feeling better…I hope you all feel tip top in time for the holidays. You sound like you are both busy, busy! 🙂 It’s great you can listen to an audio book while raking…that must make it go faster. 🙂 Hope you all have a special day! 🙂

  4. December 5, 2010 5:47 pm

    i totally agree with everything Mom said. 🙂

    you’re going to be amazed at the difference in your home when you get rid of the carpet and get wood floors. the whole place will seem so much cleaner. also, i dont know if you plan on painting baseboards or not, but when you put the wood floors in you may have to wiggle the baseboards around, move them, trim them, or just replace them all together, so if you paint them first, make sure you keep extra paint (or remember your paint ‘recipe’) for use after the flooring project. i learned this the hard way. 🙂

    • Mom permalink
      December 6, 2010 10:36 am

      Or get NEW trim!!! And you know where 🙂

  5. December 6, 2010 11:38 am

    We had two big ugly juniper shrubs in our front yard and it took James hacking them down with a hatchet and then digging up as much of the roots as possible to get rid of them once and for all. Good luck with all your projects!

  6. December 6, 2010 7:10 pm

    You are a brave lady. I do very little home improvement…not that I couldn’t, but I don’t like to make mistakes.

    The Mr. on the other hand has gotten pretty good at making repairs. Go him.

Leave a Reply

