Skip to content

Book: The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest

December 9, 2010
tags:

Short review. More of a brief commentary, actually. My ear is still draining and hurting and driving me to distraction. Hard to think when your head is full of clicks, burbles, glugs and whooshing.

So this is the third installment of the “Millenium Trilogy” by Stieg Larsson. It’s basically a breathless continuation of The Girl Who Played With Fire, which I really enjoyed. I tore through this one too (as much as one can tear whilst listening to an audiobook) and it was completely enjoyable. More legalese than the other, but a truly fascinating look at the Swedish justice system (no, really!) and some fun bits and pieces along the way. With some totally unnecessary distractions. (why the stalking of Erika Berger tangent? Bizarre.) I loved this all the way through the trial, and then after the trial, it just sort of petered out. It completely lost momentum and felt very random towards the very end. I didn’t love that. But I loved everything up through the trial.  I wanted more follow-up at the end.

But, oh well. It was worth reading all of these and they were a great commute distraction. Totally absorbing, with tons of meandering details (which i enjoy, but I know some people don’t).

Yeah. That’s about all I have to say. Back to the hot water bottle.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2010 8:37 am

    I hope that the pain goes away quickly for you. I’m happy that you have a good book to distract you as much as possible while your ear is healing. Take care and feel better fast! 🙂

  2. December 9, 2010 8:37 am

    P.S. Oops! I forgot to ask if Thomas has met the girls yet? 🙂

    • December 9, 2010 8:39 am

      He has! It’s going surprisingly well. A few hisses and growls, but mostly everyone seems resigned to the newcomer. He is just confused why nobody wants to play with him?

Leave a Reply

