Skip to content

looking on the bright side…

December 9, 2010

On the one hand:

  • Woke up with mild earache, which, once I actually got out of bed, turned into stabbing earache. Called doctor.
  • By 1o am, the Pacific Ocean was sloshing in (and out) my ear.
  • By 11 am, had dizzies and nausea.
  • Left the house at 1 pm to go to doctor.
  • Could not find parking place and Oakland doctor’s office. Was forced to use hospital valet parking.
  • Arrived on time for my 2:10 appointment.
  • By 3 pm, started wondering what happened.
  • By 3:10, discovered that receptionist misplaced my chart. Was ushered in.
  • By 3:40, stuck my head out the office to see where the hell that doctor was, anyway. Doctor saw me, came right in.
  • Gave my sob story. Refrained (barely) from actually sobbing. Doctor looked sympathetic. Looked in ear. Ear infection! Yeah!
  • Was tempted to give doctor piece of my mind. But then remembered the he’s doing the procedure at the hospital in a few weeks.
  • Stomped to valet. Valet person surprised me by waiving all charges. THANK YOU valet person. I should have tipped him, but I was so out of it that I totally forgot. Giant cosmic tip coming your way, valet man.
  • Ran a few short errands. Dropped off prescription for antibiotics.
  • Came home. Moaned.
  • Gave Terri a “trim” which turned into not-one-of-my-best haircuts. Sorry, sweetie!
  • Broke my favorite coffee mug. Tile floors are hard.
  • We have no food.
  • oh, and let’s not forget starting my period four days early. Because, why not? Just for fun!

On the other hand, this:

So maybe not such a bad day after all.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2010 9:30 pm

    ha ha ha, im sorry im laughing but ive had those kind of ‘trims’ before. yikes.

    i really really hope your ear feels better soon.

    as a side note, i totally want to make out with thomas.

    • December 10, 2010 8:43 am

      Ha, it is pretty funny. But poor Terri. I’m still learning the fine art of barbering.

      Thomas is quite the ladies’ man, although the ladies here at home are not exactly picking up his hints.

  2. December 10, 2010 7:54 am

    Oh Daph, poor you! Thomas is one handsome boy and I’m sure he’d love to cuddle with you and make it all better.

    • December 10, 2010 8:44 am

      He’s a good snuggler! I’m sure I’ll feel better in a day or two. Stupid ear infection!

  3. December 10, 2010 8:46 am

    I’m sorry your having so much pain with your ear and I hope it’s all a thing of the past very soon. Thomas is a special little fellow and I’m glad that he distracts you a bit from the pain. He’s such a handsome guy! I had a beloved cat when I was a little girl…looked so much like Thomas…his name was Corky and he would follow me like a dog! 🙂 Feel better soon. 🙂

  4. December 11, 2010 4:51 am

    Dang doctors. Always, always bring a good book with you. I hope the antibiotics are kicking in and your weekend looks brighter.

  5. December 12, 2010 3:33 pm

    Oh no.

    I am impressed with your bright side choice. Some days I find that impossible, no matter what cuteness surrounds me.

  6. December 30, 2010 3:26 pm

    wow.. there are times (RARE) that I’m glad I’m OLD (as in ancient!)

Leave a Reply

