Skip to content

tis the season

December 12, 2010

Fall, I mean. As in, falling leaves.

So pretty. But, geez.

I think we are going decorate today, and get a tree. I have to rearrange the living room furniture for this. This reminds me of home, because we always rearranged the furniture to make room for the tree at my parents’ house. I have NO idea how it’s going to end up, the room is “cozy” and everything fits perfectly right now. We’ll see.

Speaking of parents, yesterday I had one of those “I’m turning into my mother!” moments. Except not in a bad way. I was driving through our little quaint downtown, when all of a sudden I realized what I was doing: I hadn’t eaten anything all day, so while at the health food store I had picked up a (vegan) chocolate chip cookie. So I was driving down the street, singing along with the Christmas songs on the radio, eating a chocolate chip cookie after having eaten nothing else all day, poking around into thrift stores. This is vintage My Mom. Except for the vegan part. I laughed, and called her to tell her. Oh, also I almost cried because I had to walk away from a pile of adoptable 8-week-old puppies. Also My Mom (also very Me).

I had to do a little shopping yesterday. Dear People of Suburbia: it’s okay, Cost Plus is not going to run out of holiday stuff anytime soon. Keep your panties on. Geeeeez. No, I will not be doing much shopping this year. I have to do some, but thankfully most of it I will do AFTER the holidays. This is as much for my own sanity as because I am not travelling for the holidays until after the actual holidays. Also, I am very behind on holiday stuff and frankly I don’t really care.

So today we’ll get a tree, put up Terri’s Christmas village on the (incredibly ugly) mantel, and make the house cozy. All I really want for Christmas is some GF gingerbread men and GF sugar cookies, a pretty tree, and everyone to be healthy.

Oh, the latest on Cat Integration: seems to be going better. We have reached the “I tolerate you. Barely.” stage. As you can tell, Thomas barely registers that he is being “tolerated.”

 


11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2010 1:18 pm

    The saying a picture is worth a thousand words is certainly true of this photo…it really captures both cats…Thomas looks as if he has been there his whole life…and your other kitty seems to be looking at him with a touch of…distain? lol Have a special day and have fun putting up the Christmas tree. (will the kitty’s try to climb it?)

    • December 13, 2010 8:39 am

      No kitty-climbing yet, but yes, this photo is totally both cats in a nutshell!

  2. December 12, 2010 1:19 pm

    The photo of that gorgeous yellow leaf laden lawn is absolutely beautiful! It looks like a sound stage from a movie! Lovely!!

  3. December 12, 2010 3:29 pm

    Bwahahaha! That last picture rules.

  4. December 12, 2010 7:54 pm

    im so glad my shopping is over. i had to go to the mall this weekend to take the girl to a bday party and the crowds were nuts. it can all zap your energy pretty quickly.

    also, i see a box in your picture that needs to be unpacked….get to that wont you? sheesh what have you been doing??!!!

    • December 13, 2010 8:40 am

      I know!! There’s actually *another* box in the house that needs unpacking, and TWO MORE in the garage. What can I say? We’re lazy.

  5. December 13, 2010 12:32 pm

    If looks could kill I’d say Cleo had just rendered Thomas unconscious.

  6. December 15, 2010 3:58 am

    We’ve been slow to decorate around here too. Finally, I think I have it all together. I could pass on the decorations, myself — it’s a lot of work hauling everything out, rearranging, etc. But — once it’s done, it’s a good feeling. Enjoy.

  7. December 15, 2010 5:58 pm

    Have to agree with the other commenters that the photo of the cats is priceless. Just the look on your cat’s face. ha ha.

  8. December 30, 2010 3:21 pm

    gotta love the “look”…. good thing looks can’t kill huh?! lol

Leave a Reply

