Skip to content

Book: Gunn’s Golden Rules (aka “gossipy goodness!”)

December 27, 2010
tags:

For someone so concerned with manners, politeness and being dignified in general, Tim Gunn really knows how to dish. And amen for that, because even though I actually like manners and etiquette and all that, who needs another boring etiquette book? This one manages to make you remember to be nice and kind to everyone (even if you gossip a little behind their back or in print, right, Tim?), while at the same time keeps you amused with mildly shocking breaches of behavior by fashion-world glitterati (held up as bad examples, of course).

If you are a fan of Project Runway or fashion in general, you’ll like this book. It’s fun, gossipy, featherlight, and full of Tim Gunn’s queeny prissy sass. Yes, he manages to convey all of this at once. We like Tim Gunn and wish he was our next door neighbor, and I like fashion gossip, so it was a no-brainer to read this one.

To be honest, this book was so lightweight I expected it to fly away at the slightest breeze. Tim Gunn is many things, but a master of fine writing he is not. However, it doesn’t really matter in this case since the point is to have a good time talking about how to get along in the world today, make people feel good about being around you, and avoid pulling an Anna Wintour. If pressed, I could have read this entire book in an hour or two, but it’s like reading your favorite gossipy fashion column, only the long version we all wish existed.

I’m not sure that I really learned anything since most of Tim’s advice I already follow on my own anyway (Be nice. Send a card when someone dies. Be a good guest. Make other people comfortable. Etc.). But it was a fun read and some brain candy for pre-Christmas reading.

Yup, that’s about all I can say about it. Pretty much, if you’re a fan, it’s a good time. If not, it’s still fun. But it’s not a must-read or anything like that. I enjoyed it but frankly it was almost too fluffy for me. It was perfect at 255 large-print small-size pages.

Now I’m reading something truly satisfying: Bright-Sided. Oh, I am enjoying this one a lot.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2010 9:16 am

    i love this kinda stuff. i wish i knew more sassy, prissy queens in real life.

  2. Lara Starr permalink
    December 30, 2010 6:40 pm

    Of the many things I love about Timm Gunn, is that he really dishes in interviews and books – no holding back, but always charming. I wish he was behind and just to the right of me at all times giving me good advice.

Leave a Reply

