Skip to content

2011 Reading Goals

December 31, 2010

I’ll have my non-resolutions up tomorrow (just a few small personal goals and reminders which won’t matter if I don’t do — I am SO over guilt-induced resolutions), but just a few thoughts on my reading goals for next year (again, who cares if I don’t complete them? I never do — it’s just fun to think about the reading year ahead).

  • More big chunky classics. I am missing my old books. Shiny new books at the library keep tempting me.
  • Less fluff, when I *know* it’s fluff but I read it anyway. It’s never satisfying, and there are just too many good books in the world. If it turns out to be fluff in disguise, well, then it can’t be avoided (The Help, I’m looking at you)
  • Less of the sort of unpleasantly aggressive non-fiction books I seem to read a lot of. They are usually one or two punchy words for the title, followed by a long explanatory subtitle. “Muddy Shoes: The Carpet-Wrecking Epidemic” or “Nuts: The Squirrel Invasion of America’s Backyards”
  • No books based on blogs.
  • More really good YA fiction.
  • More excellent sci-fi and fantasy.
  • Maybe a venture into a few other short story collections (spurred on by the success of Fragile Things)
  • Maybe a biography or two.
  • A good series, something to really get into over a stretch of books (taking suggestions!)

Mostly I just want to read more books that take a lot of concentration — I feel so scattered lately that I think having some book Good Books will help pull me back to earth. I also want to read more books that really make me think. I spent last year trying so hard to relax that I think I went too far in the easy-reading direction. This year I feel ready to do some good serious reading (that does NOT mean serious, dour books!).

I’m going to finish Drood sometime probably in January (hopefully — hard to judge with audiobooks, I’m learning). I’m going to want to read some Wilkie Collins and Dickens after that. And then maybe some Alcott (maybe a re-read of Little Men and Jo’s Boys?), maybe an Austen I haven’t read yet (Northanger Abbey?). Some more John Connelly, some more Terry Pratchett, maybe some Tolstoy or Dostoevsky. This makes me happy just thinking about it. Oh! And Diana Wynne Jones, who somehow I have completely missed up to now.

Oh — number of books? I’d like to hit 75. Ultimately I’d like to break 100 but I don’t know that I’m really that dedicated, frankly.

And a Happy New Year to everyone out there. I love knowing there are likeminded souls out on the Internets. May your next year be full of good things.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2010 5:45 pm

    i want to read some really good YA books too but i dont know where to begin. its been such a long time since ive actively looked for YA books. when ive read them as a not-so-young adult its because ive sort of stumbled upon it or it was super popular (like Twilight).

    Happy New Year! Will you be staying up to ring it in? I have some sparkly drink here but i’ll probably be out by 10:30. Hug Terri and snuggle the kitties for me.

    • December 31, 2010 8:27 pm

      Ooh, I love YA. I’m totally not up to date with the new ones, but it’s fun to explore. Let’s trade notes?
      I think we’re going to stay up and eat nachos and watch Tales of the City on DVD. Sounds excellent. Hugs to your adorable family from all of us!!

  2. December 31, 2010 7:56 pm

    Happy New Year to you and your loved ones! Happy reading in 2011. Maybe my YA paranormal romance will get published and you can add it to your list. 🙂

    • December 31, 2010 8:28 pm

      Hey wow! That would be awesome! PS I love to be a beta reader, if you need one. Caution: I am brutally honest in reviewing!

  3. January 1, 2011 8:17 am

    Good goals Daph! Your good series goal made me think of a few I’d like to get around to reading, Neal Stephenson’s Baroque Trilogy, The Gormenghast series, and the Raj quartet. Oh, Doris Lessing’s
    Children of Violence series. I’m sure there are a few others hiding in the corner of my brain!

    • January 1, 2011 12:53 pm

      Oh, good suggestions. I’m going to look into those and see if the library has any… I am very excited to start on my new reading. I think first up is the new Stephen King, and then maybe jump into The Woman In White.

  4. January 1, 2011 4:46 pm

    I spent this past year immersed in YA fiction and loved it.

    Your goals inspire me. Big chunky classics rarely make it to my list. I want to zone a bit at the end of the night. Not that I’m reading books with Fabio on the cover, but still. I’m not reading Tolstoy.

    • January 1, 2011 7:15 pm

      That is totally how I felt last year. I could barely handle anything slightly more challenging than chick lit (which I REFUSE to read except when it tricks me)

  5. D'Arcy permalink
    January 1, 2011 5:20 pm

    I’m currently reading The Forgotten Garden – have you read it? I think it’s got the right amount of good storytelling and English coziness for you. There’s no point in recommending my current series to you (Pendergast) or the next one I plan to tackle (The Girl Who…) If I think of something, I’ll let you know. I’m more like Dani up there, though – my reading is escapist, zoning out type books generally.

    • January 1, 2011 7:16 pm

      No, who’s it by? And I know your reading habits, silly. 🙂 But yeah, let me know if you think of a good one. I might start with The Hunger Games, encompassing both YA and a series.

  6. January 2, 2011 1:58 pm

    Happy New Year! I like your resolution to cut out the fluff. It really is so rarely satisfying. Suggestion series – Have you read Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy?

    • January 8, 2011 10:34 am

      I’ve read those! I loved them! I mght have to do a re-read of those…

  7. January 2, 2011 1:59 pm

    Oops – I also meant to mention I really liked your ‘examples’ for the non-fiction titles. 🙂

  8. January 4, 2011 11:54 am

    I have long suspected that The Help was overrated fluff, but the multitudes of people I encountered daily (public library) who proclaimed it the BEST BOOK EVER! simultaneously reinforced my assumption and made me wonder if I should read it. Well, it was chosen as my book club’s selection for Februrary so it looks like I will after all.

    • January 8, 2011 10:35 am

      I’d be interested in what you thought — report back!

Leave a Reply

