Skip to content

2011 Goals

January 1, 2011

Happy New Year!

Last year we made some goals on New Years Eve, and although we made some half-hearted progress on about half of them, we accomplished the big one. Actually, it wasn’t even a goal last year to buy a house. The goal was, “To figure out what to do about the house-buying thing.” As in, can we? Should we? Well, WE DID! So to me, coupled with Terri finally getting her benefits, I call last year Full Of Win. I’m perfectly happy with last year. I worked really, really hard at not stressing out (most of the time), and we accomplished some really great things.

So what’s up for 2011? Continuing with the low-key theme of my life lately, here’s what I’m thinking:

  • Drink more water. I am routinely dehydrated. I’m not sure how this happens. But, I’m going to try and drink more water and see if that helps.
  • Get some chickens. I will happily eat their eggs, since I will know exactly what they are eating and how they are treated.
  • Make at least 1 raised bed and grow some excellent cucumbers and tomatoes.
  • Cook more: we went through a lot of dietary changes last year and my cooking has seriously fallen to the wayside. We’ve been having oatmeal for dinner lately. That’s sad. So, more cooking. I’m getting the hang of gluten-free baking so now it’s time to tackle low-fat, high-fiber, low-dairy, high-nutrient vegetarian cooking.
  • Find a local park and/or trail for some hiking. Also find a neighborhood jogging route. I like to have a set route so I can just get out and go when I want to. Right now I have no idea where to go.
  • Finish building shelves in the garage and get the garage all organized.
  • Oh, and put some pictures up on the walls already!

Yep, that’s about it. Also add to list: set up hammock, sew some stuff, do some art, make some Livermore friends, and get involved in either a community project or church.

But seriously, as long as I’m relatively happy, not stressed out, and not sick, life is good, so it doesn’t matter all that much. As we find out in Blind Sided, neverending self-improvement is a big drag.

So here’s to a great 2011! And now, I am not going to worry about it very much at all.

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2011 8:22 am

    I have a friend in Minneapolis who just got six 8 week old chicks from a chicken rescue, yes Minneapolis has a chicken rescue. She just finished building the coop and has a few more finishing touches to put on it before little chicks can stay outside (they are currently in a dog kennel in her basement), but she’s very excited about it. I look forward to hearing about your gardening and cooking adventures and your art, don’t forget your art!

    • January 1, 2011 12:52 pm

      Chicken rescue!! I love it. I grew up with chickens and my dad always let them live out their full life, egg production or not, and that’s what we intend to do as well. I’m thinking 3 to 5. I can’t wait to start building! Chicks!! So cute.

      And yes, art! I’m going to do some today!

  2. January 1, 2011 4:48 pm

    I just posted my list of non-resolutions and ours look quite similar!

    I like your list. I’m loving the fact that I’m not alone in my non-resolution list making.

  3. January 3, 2011 2:55 am

    Good luck with those chickens….Every year I visit the little chicks at our local Agway and wish I could take some home. My mother — who grew up on a farm — thinks that nuts. She hated chicken detail!

    • January 8, 2011 10:32 am

      I grew up with chickens and kind of love them. Just a few!! Not 20, like we had…

  4. January 3, 2011 7:38 am

    Amen! to cook more. I’m trying to do the same thing. No fast food for me, even though I’ll be on the road a lot this semester.

    • January 8, 2011 10:33 am

      Good luck! I almost never eat fast food, except for the occasional french fries… it’s an easy habit to get into if you aren’t careful!

  5. January 4, 2011 4:58 am

    CHEERS for a fabulous 2011!

Leave a Reply

