Skip to content

damn your eyes!

January 8, 2011

(this was a popular curse in Victorian England, I’m learning from Drood. It’s my new thing.)

What a crappy week. (mostly)

Monday I felt kind of ‘off,’ but didn’t worry about it too much.

But by Tuesday, I was feeling horrible. Every few months I get a really terrible period and this was one of them. I felt so bad I had to lay down at work for an hour or so (we have a small ‘nap’ room in the back of the office). I get incredibly dizzy and lose all cognitive ability. It was bad. In a twist of a curse/blessing that was also the day that my hard drive on my work computer completely conked out, so I spent all day in a limbo of waiting for a temporary computer, feeling horrible, etc. It was bad. I think I ended up coming home early that day.

Wednesday I stayed home from work and worked at home on my home computer. It was busy, but at least I was home and on the couch. So that wasn’t such a bad day.

But by Thursday, my Blackberry had chosen to also conk out, so I wasn’t able to get any work emails, etc. Also my temporary computer at work has only the basics, so I don’t have any of my regular fonts, programs, files, etc. So I had my crappy temporary computer plus my home laptop, which made it really hard to organize getting stuff done because I’d have to do some work on one of the computers, then transfer it to the other, then transfer it back, etc. So annoying. Also, Thursday we had a crock-pot recipe failure, so dinner was bad, which is always a disappointment.

By Friday, because of whatever they were doing to try to fix my Blackberry, I wasn’t getting any work emails AT ALL, anywhere. This took things to a new level of bad, because I do most of my communication at work via email since we are a very large and spread-out company. The worst part was that I didn’t even know what I wasn’t getting, and I was waiting for corrections to documents, etc. So… cue more frustration. I had a crappy temporary computer with barely anything that I needed, no Blackberry, no work email, plus I think I was still tired from the week’s physical crap also happening. I think some other bad things happened too, which I’ve since blocked out. Also I was attempting to design a report in Word, which, if you have any design background at all, you will know is an intense exercise in frustration. By the end of the day I was in a black mood, although they did finally get my email up again and my blackberry working, so that’s something.

Damn technology’s eyes!

So this weekend, I am attempting to counteract with the following measures:

  • Books! I have Miss Pettigrew Lives For a Day, The Moonstone, and something else which looks fun but I can’t remember now.
  • Art! I have a couple projects to work on. A day sitting at the art desk sounds very therapeutic.
  • A wee bit of housework. Sometimes a little bit of cleaning is so satisfying.
  • I’m thinking some GF banana bread may be in order as well.

It’s cold and foggy and that sort of weather always feels so comforting to me. Here’s hoping the weekend is better! It WILL be or I will damn its eyes!

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2011 11:50 am

    I’ve never heard that Victorian curse but it’s one I’ll have to remember! lol I’m sorry that you had so much trouble this past week but I hope your weekend makes up for it in more ways that you can imagine! πŸ™‚ The GF banana bread sounds yummy and I hope lots of creative sparks are flying when you sit at your art desk. πŸ™‚ Wishing everyone a special weekend. πŸ™‚

    • January 8, 2011 11:52 am

      thank you!! I hope it’s a better one, myself. Crappy weeks are bad. Have a great weekend!

  2. January 8, 2011 12:54 pm

    what a crappy week! i really hope by the time you return to work all of your technological stuff is back in working order.

    i hope your weekend is good and that you can just chill in your jammies and do what you want.

    • January 8, 2011 1:07 pm

      I’m going to. It’s 1 pm and I”m still in jammies and about to head to the art room.

  3. January 8, 2011 1:11 pm

    Hoping your weekend is off to a good start! It sounds like it was one of the technology sucks weeks when we are reminded how far we have come to rely on technology and how we are screwed (at least work-wise) when it goes down. Maybe they need to start allowing people to take technology sick days! If you technology doesn’t work, you shouldn’t have to either. πŸ™‚ But then the work just piles up…

    • January 8, 2011 5:39 pm

      Thanks, Nick. I can’t do my job without technology! I kind of hate that. oh well. Yes, the weekend is off to a MUCH better start. Fiddling around in the yard, playing with paint, getting a project done. Awesome.

  4. January 8, 2011 10:36 pm

    Oh, so sorry. That sounds like one suck-ola week.

    I have similar periods every few months. Extreme exhaustion, headaches bordering on migraine, and dizziness. They are debilitating.

    Feel better friend, and may those technology ninjas be damned.

    • January 9, 2011 9:24 pm

      It totally sucked! But the weekend has been better. And bad periods can be totally debilitating. I was pretty much useless that day.

  5. January 10, 2011 3:59 am

    Some weeks should just be completely written off….Sounds like yours was one of those. I’m getting a new computer at work this week — I’m already anticipating disaster.

    • January 10, 2011 6:19 pm

      It’s horrible! I’m hoping for a MUCH better week this time around…

  6. January 11, 2011 11:12 am

    Sorry about your bad week. Dickens is a good antidote though. And I feel your pain with Word. I think Word is is Microsoft’s way of giving the finger to the world.

Leave a Reply

