Skip to content

A Few Firsts

January 11, 2011

First sweet oranges off our very own tree.

First radish from our first (very small) garden. (it’s one single row of radishes)

First bright yellow daffodil (an early bird — everyone else is still barely peeping out of the ground)

First bit of messing-around art in the new art room.

First amazing-smelling white narcissus. (again, total early bird)

First blush-pink rose off the strangely late-blooming roses in our yard.

And these aren’t a first, but they ARE amazing curry-spiced sweet potato fries, and they are worth mentioning. YUM.

 

Peel two large sweet potatoes. Preheat oven to 500 degrees.

Cut potatoes into fry strips (we like them sort of big and chunky)

Put in bowl. Drizzle with olive oil, enough to coat (but not too much).

Add lots of curry, smoked paprika, seasoned salt, cumin. Toss well (I use my hands).

Line a baking pan with a Silpat liner or foil. Spread potatoes evenly.

Bake for 20-30 minutes, depending on how you like the skin. They will *not* be crisp, but they will be delicious!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2011 8:21 am

    It’s overcast outside and I’m waiting for the big snowstorm they predicted here in Jersey…feeling the winter blah’s so soon in the season…and then I clicked on your post…your beautiful pix of flowers, veggies and fruits sure brightened up my day! 🙂 I LOVE yellow daffodils and pink roses! You have a Garden of Eden in your very own back yard! Thanks for sharing the beauty of it. The painting is a masterpiece! And those sweet potatoes fries look yummy! 🙂

    • January 12, 2011 7:13 pm

      Aw, thank you! It’s been COLD which is why all the flowers are so funny, but welcome!

  2. D'Arcy permalink
    January 11, 2011 8:42 am

    Love love LOVE the art! I can’t even imagine getting fruit or flowers from a garden right now. We’re supposed to get a bit of snow from that storm that jmjbookblog mentioned. I’m so glad you’re getting so much happiness from your new garden and your new house. You deserve it.

    • January 12, 2011 7:14 pm

      So glad you like the art! It was fun, just a silly thing to do. It brightens up the room for now. Thanks for saying so. Maybe I’ll send you some oranges. We have enough. 🙂

  3. January 11, 2011 11:34 am

    i cant believe what success youve had with your garden already. yay!

    love your bit of art.

    • January 12, 2011 7:14 pm

      One radish counts as success? I’ll take it! Didn’t do anything to the orange tree except put food on it. Love it!

  4. January 11, 2011 12:10 pm

    I won’t see daffodils here for another four and a half months and no roses until well into June. We are monotone here right now so all of your bright and colorful photos have been a feast to my eyes 🙂

    • January 12, 2011 7:15 pm

      So glad! We are loving it. Feeling lucky to live where we do… this is the perfect house and yard for us.

  5. January 11, 2011 2:59 pm

    Gorgeous photographs! Looks like you’re settling in nicely. 😀

  6. January 11, 2011 6:06 pm

    Aw….what a lovely post 😀 I have daffodils sprouting in my garden too!! Glad to see that my garden isn’t the only one that’s confused right now :p

    • January 12, 2011 7:16 pm

      It’s so funny — I”m like, don’t you realize it’s 28 degrees out there?!

  7. January 11, 2011 6:47 pm

    Most excellent firsts!

    Sweet potato fries rock my world.

  8. January 12, 2011 4:13 am

    I’m really jealous now for your fresh produce. My garden is buried under a foot of snow. I don’t even want to go to the grocery store because that would mean barrelling out of my driveway which has at least 2 feet piled up. Sigh. I’ll just enjoy your pictures. I am copying down the potato recipe. This sounds amazing.

    • January 12, 2011 7:17 pm

      They are so good. Not crisp, but super yummy, especially with BBQ ketchup (BBQ sauce mixed with ketchup). I am wishing I’d planted more radishes, this little one was so good. And I am going to harvest some oranges this weekend. So far, that’s it for the garden, but it makes me eager for more!

  9. January 12, 2011 7:15 pm

    Totally. It feels like home!

  10. January 12, 2011 7:18 pm

    That comment was supposed to be for Eva!

Leave a Reply

