Skip to content

good things

January 16, 2011

(random photo of our kitchen, which is definitely a good thing. oh kitchen, I love you so much.)

After a sort of weird/off week at work, which followed at least one other weird/off workweek (mostly technology issues), it’s been a good weekend.

Yesterday I did tons of chores, including drilling into these beautiful cabinets to finish putting on the pulls (it was only half-finished when we bought the house). I’ve been super-nervous about doing this. How do I measure where to put the holes? What if I mess up?

Well. It’s all done. And I messed up. But only a little. I drilled through into the pull-out drawer on one cabinet (hello! wood putty!) and one of the handles is slightly crooked, due to a miscalculation of measurement (and failure to measure twice, drill once). But it’s just slightly crooked. It looks sort of arty. Right?

Aside: I like drills.

I meant to do some art this weekend, but I got sucked into tarot cards. I did a big start-of-the-year spread. It was astonishingly positive. Good, powerful, strong, magical, the beginning of a really really good cycle. So says the cards, anyway. Let’s believe them, shall we? I had to write down the whole spread because it was so awesome. It also indicated that the past has been really hard. Also true. So yeah. The cards don’t lie. Past: hard. Present: good. Future: fantastic new journey.

For those into such things, this was a Celtic Cross/Woven spread:

  1. 6 Wands
  2. Star
  3. Emperor
  4. 5 Wands
  5. 9 Pentacles
  6. Page Pentacles
  7. Tower (oh yes, definitely my fears!)
  8. King of Cups
  9. Strength
  10. 9 Wands (supposed to end on a figure/Major, so had to draw more cards…)
  11. 7 Cups
  12. 2 Wands
  13. The Fool (the beginning of all this good stuff)

I also did my tarot numerology and it indicated that I needed to develop my magical divining powers (yes, it said this) since I am a Magician (1). So. I think I’ll start by doing a small 3-card spread every morning or evening and write it down. If nothing else, I’ll learn the cards better.

In other news, the good thing about leaving leaves unraked in all your flower beds is that it just sort of naturally turns into mulch. I discovered this today when doing a little weeding. Hello, black mushy mulchy stuff! I’m going to leave it. No need to disturb nature doing its thing.

I’m reading The Moonstone and I love it, although it’s taking rather more powers of concentration than I currently have available. So it’s sort of slow going. But tomorrow, in between taking Cleo to the vet and Terri to an appointment, art will be made and book will be read. I want to finish it by next weekend. Ambitious. But there are other books needing to be read, dammit!

So. Starting off the year on an excellent foot, moving forward with all signs pointing to YES, making small mistakes along the way and just not caring all that much. So far, so good.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. jmjbookblog permalink
    January 16, 2011 7:44 pm

    I love drills, too! πŸ™‚ Your kitchen is beautiful and the handles look great! I really love the look of the large shelf over the stove and the stainless steel appliances! Gorgeous! πŸ™‚

  2. January 17, 2011 3:22 am

    Sounds lovely! I’m still really jealous of your kitchen. Also, re: leaves in flower beds…a great thing, right? It’s NOT lazy, it’s a green way of mulching and not producing waste! Right???

  3. January 17, 2011 9:16 am

    Gorgeous kitchen. Whenever you post something about your house I smile, remembering those posts when this all finally came together for you. I’m still very happy for you.

    You are braver than I. When it came time to put the pulls on my (then) new cabinets, I had my cabinet maker friend come over and do it for me. I figured I’d rather be in a position to forgive him for any mistakes rather than be mad at myself forever. Ha! I like your choice, those are great pulls.

    • January 17, 2011 12:12 pm

      We are so happy here. I did a *pretty* good job on the pulls but I probably should have read some directions first or something. Oh well!

  4. January 17, 2011 10:43 am

    Beautiful kitchen Daph! And good work with the cabinet pulls. Nice Tarot spread btw.

    And leaves make great mulch. When the leaves fall off our trees in autumn we rake them into all the flower beds. They make good winter protection and eventually wonderful compost.

    • January 17, 2011 12:13 pm

      I think that’s what I’m going to do each year too. They are turning all nice and black and mulchy. Now, if only the rocks would do that too…

  5. January 17, 2011 5:40 pm

    I’m having serious stove/oven envy….Your kitchen look amazing. And don’t worry about having a slightly crooked drawer pull. You’re probably the only one who notices.

    • January 17, 2011 6:44 pm

      I really love the kitchen so much. I spend at least half the weekend in there, although I’m not really cooking a ton. However: next weekend, marmalade! (maybe)

  6. January 17, 2011 6:32 pm

    Such a nice kitchen. Very nice job!

    re: The Moonstone, which I am also currently reading slowly, someone reminded me: it was originally a serial. So, you know, it’s authentic to take your time. πŸ˜‰

    • January 17, 2011 6:44 pm

      Good point! It’s actually so readable — I’m really into it now.

  7. January 18, 2011 2:32 am

    Your kitchen is gorgeous! And The Moonstone is so awesome. It starts off slowly, but the pace does pick up after a while.

    • January 18, 2011 6:56 am

      Yes, I’m totally getting into it now! It’s starting to reach the can’t-put-it-down phase.

  8. January 18, 2011 4:04 pm

    i heart your kitchen. is that a cheesecake cooling on the stove?

    i know nothing about tarot or numerology. interesting.

    • January 21, 2011 8:33 am

      YES it’s cheesecake and it was SO good. (good eye!)

  9. January 21, 2011 6:46 pm

    You do have a beautiful kitchen. πŸ™‚

  10. January 25, 2011 8:25 pm

    I love your kitchen too! It looks so warm and inviting. From here the drilling looks fab! lol πŸ™‚

    As for the tarot spread – there’s a real sense that you are learning this year, like at a journeyman stage of things. And doing it on your own, too, and the satisfaction of knowing you can do it. There is still change to come, and you’re afraid of it, but it will be good in the long run. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

