Skip to content

Just keepin’ it real

February 16, 2011

So today started off with me wandering around the grocery store, attempting to figure out what to have for lunch since I walked out of the house without packed lunch, without coffee, and barely (apparently) with my head attached.

I grabbed a large russet potato. And then wandered around the store some more, clutching the potato to my chest. This had the unfortunate side effect of making me seem more than slightly odd, as several employees stopped me to ask if they could help me find something. “Some sour cream? Some cheese? Perhaps the exit? Yes, let’s go to the exit now…”

I eventually also picked up a bag of frozen veggies. One potato and one bag of frozen vegetables, and a faceful of blank stare.

Ugh. I don’t know what is up with me this week. I have had a mild undercurrent of bad attitude about doing anything even resembling work. Forgetful, kind of tired, and slightly grumpy, mostly about anything resembling work, as stated previously.

Actually I think what is up is that I’m fighting another ear infection, from having the procedure done a week and a half ago. I keep putting the drops in, but I hate the drops and so I can only keep it up for a few days and then I’m hopeful that it’s all healed so I quit. And then it starts hurting again. If I do have an infection, that would explain my mood and tiredness. Right?

So, yeah. It’s just me and my potato, wandering around aimlessly. Avoiding work. I am so awesome sometimes, you know?

 

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 3:44 pm

    ha ha ha ha. im sorry you’re feeling, um..under the weather? but i had to laugh at you wandering around clutching your potato. i think though, as long as you didnt draw a face on it and name it, you’ll be ok.

    • February 16, 2011 4:25 pm

      It was pretty funny. I knew it was funny as I was doing it but I didn’t know what else to do! Yeah, faceless potato is generally preferable to Mr. Potatohead.

  2. Lara Starr permalink
    February 16, 2011 10:57 pm

    1 potato
    1 grapefruit
    1 coconut
    1 $15 iTunes gift card

    What the folks in front of me at the store were buying the other day

    1/2 gallon of mango ice cream

    What the Hells-Angel looking guy was buying at the Petaluma Lucky at 7:30 in the morning

    1 package of frozen corn on the cob

    What I bought once at 1:30 in the morning at 7-11

    At least I know the backstory to the last one 😉

    Hope your ear is better soon!

    • February 17, 2011 9:47 am

      I know, I love looking at what random items people buy at the store!

  3. February 17, 2011 8:33 am

    That is too unfair, to be rewarded for your bravery with earache! Did you enjoy your potato?

    • February 17, 2011 9:48 am

      I didn’t even eat my potato! Because, thankfully, there were leftover sandwiches at work, for lunch. Awesome.

  4. February 17, 2011 8:36 am

    The image of you wandering around the store with your potato made me laugh. Sorry about your ear. Put your drops in!

    • February 17, 2011 9:48 am

      I hate drops!! But yeah. Just me and my potato. Wandering around the store, slightly forlorn…

  5. February 17, 2011 9:34 am

    Wandering around aimlessly clutching a potato isn’t so awful….I’m sure there’s worse things. Heck — you weren’t hurting anyone. Poor Daphne. Get that ear taken care of soon. Do I need to scold you to make sure you take that medicine until it’s cleared up? It’s the mom in me coming out!

    • February 17, 2011 9:49 am

      I know! I know! I’m doing it every night for a week. I guess. Grumble.

  6. February 17, 2011 7:46 pm

    My zombie eye is still around. A month later.

    Maybe that’s why I’m still behind on laundry and my blog has turned to shit.

    Let’s hope so.

    • February 18, 2011 7:10 am

      Ugh. I hope you feel better soon too. Sometimes everything kind of sucks all at once.

Leave a Reply

