Skip to content

Random Updates

February 18, 2011

Who doesn’t love a giant bulleted list? Right? Onward!

  • It is becoming increasingly clear that we need one tallish, evergreen, narrow tree/bush/plant privacy thingie in this one place in the yard, very quickly. The new neighbors next door have not moved in yet but they are doing lots of repairs, and one of the windows looks directly into our yard. They’ve had it shuttered, but it’s open right now, and they’ve left and left the lights on, which is annoying. We can see in their house, and they can see our patio and dining room. Which is where we hang out all the time. It’s like, Hello there! So I kind of want to plant something this weekend. Hopefully the nursery will be able to help. I am not sure about my privacy screen’s sturdiness, either. I think it needs a frame. Maybe I will re-attempt that this summer, since the bougainvillea is still not sure if it’s going to live or not.
  • Everything is bursting into bloom. The plum tree is starting to get popcorn blossoms all over it, and I think it’s just a matter of a week or two before we start getting some serious spring flowers. This makes me happy, but also I feel like, tick-tock, it’s going to be time to put in veggies soon, and I still don’t have the raised beds built. It’s not a tragedy if they don’t get done on time but I kind of wanted to put in a garden this year. Maybe I should just start with one, right? (we have plans for two)
  • I’m definitely planting potatoes this weekend, however. I’m thinking of doing the potatoes-in-a-garbage-bag plan. Easy and cheap, and why not? It’s so odd, I love it. The one place that is garden-ready will probably be turned into a chicken coop, but I don’t know when, so I’m hesitant to plant anything there.
  • I have been experiencing a low-level funk for the last few days/weeks. I think I’m a little burned out at work for some reason. I’m trying to turn this around because it’s not fun, and it’s not like things are bad. I’m just a little tired or something. I don’t know.
  • Reading YA fiction is helping to lift my mood, however. The books are fun, easy to get through quickly, and sort of comforting. Again, the power of books to repair a soul is not to be overlooked.
  • A few ideas I’m having:
    • Explore Tarot more (I’m trying to do at least a few readings for myself each week, to get to know the cards).
    • Do some creative writing (with the help of Writing Down The Bones and Bird by Bird)
    • Revive my graphic design business (I have new idea for my website — my current one is horrible, and I haven’t wanted to pursue this at all lately. But I’m feeling a bit of renewed interest)
    • Working on a green Owl painting. And then I really ought to do a mini Etsy shop.
  • We are still trying to figure out bedroom paint colors. Terri is a fantastic color-chooser, and has come up with some great ideas. She likes very bold colors. I’m okay with whatever she chooses. Right now we are loving Benjamin Moore’s Summer Nights for the walls and Wheatfield for the ceiling. The bedroom gets a lot of light so I think it can take a strong color on the walls. But who knows. We are also into a beautiful apricot called August Morning, so it could go in any direction. There are way too many paint colors to choose from. I have chosen Porcelain for the hall bathroom, but haven’t gotten around to painting yet. I think we’re going to get some samples this weekend and start putting paint up on the walls.
  • My mom is coming to visit in two weeks, and I have book club here at my house next weekend. Two good reasons to clear up a tiny bit of clutter and do a bit of deep cleaning. There are many good things about this house; one of them is that it can take a bit of piling-up in the corners and still not feel cluttered. Or maybe that’s a bad thing, because there are still a few boxes here and there, and we still haven’t got pictures up on the walls. Oh well. We are all moved in and settled, but we haven’t gotten on with the second stage of moving in: painting, pictures on walls, a few furniture purchases, etc. I think we’re just sort of waiting to see what wants to go where.
  • But oh, that mantel needs to be replaced SOON. So. Ugly.

Well, that’s about it for today. I made gluten-free cornbread last night and it was pretty good. Having good luck with the recipes in Gluten Free Baking Classics, just FYI. She has a recipe for an all-purpose flour mix which works great, but she calls for finely-ground brown rice flour, and it’s really hard to find. I substitute half Bob’s Red Mill brown rice flour and half finely-ground white rice flour, which is easy to find. That seems to work pretty well. Just some words to the wise.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2011 8:38 am

    ive been in a low level funk too and i really cant put my finger on why. i mean, life has been a bit more hectic and stressful than usual, but nothing as bad as what ive dealt with in the past. plus, it just seems like im not handling things well, which then of course makes me feel like just a giant whiny booger. someone mentioned the full moon as a possible funk inducer. maybe? oh well, i have nothing planned all weekend but relaxing stuff so hopefully next week will be better.

    i want to hear more about your Tarot thing. i know nothing about it because growing up i was urged to avoid such things so as not to invite the devil into my life.(sigh, i know, crazy.)

    and i cant wait to see what colors you finally decide on.

    • February 19, 2011 9:38 am

      Well, I *am* in league with the devil, so you might not want to try Tarot with me. But, if you don’t mind that small detail, I’d love to do a reading for you!

      Colors: me too!

      Funk: I can’t wait until it lifts. I’m tired of myself.

  2. February 20, 2011 7:26 pm

    The funk is here in Houston as well. I’m knee deep in it.

    Although making granola and vegan chocolate chip cookies today took the sting out. I’m feeling rather content at the moment.

    Lists with bullets are the greatest.

    • February 21, 2011 5:24 pm

      Mmm. Vegan chocolate chip cookies. Solves almost everything.

  3. February 20, 2011 8:46 pm

    Sounds like you have lots on the mind right now! That can certainly contribute to a funk…hope it leaves you soon!! I’ve been in a funk of my own lately..which is ashame when the weather has been so beautiful lately and nature has been so lovely. Ah well, can’t always help it. I’m looking forward to your progress on all of these things on the list though!! They made me smile 🙂

    • February 21, 2011 5:24 pm

      Thanks. Your comments always make me smile — so hopefully now we are both feeling better! Maybe I do have a lot on my mind…

  4. February 21, 2011 11:05 am

    We have a place in our side yard where we need the same sort of screening plant you describe. It’s always niggling the back of my mind. Only I am kind of wanting a broadleaf evergreen, if I can find it. I need to look into miniature magnolias that can be pruned upright if such a thing exists, and they sell them big enough that they won’t take forever to grow into the space. I love strawberry trees (arbutus unedo), and I planted one in a another spot, but they only grow something like five inches a year! It’s challenging when you need the Goldilocks “just right” plant that’s big and dense and fast-growing enough, but not *so* big and fast growin it blocks your way from here to there. Do tell what you end up getting!

    • February 21, 2011 5:25 pm

      I will! I’m going to ask our big huge fantastic nursery in a week or two. I’m sure they’ll have just the right thing. We need a fast-growing vine too — I’m thinking that over the summer we might do nasturtiums, just to have *something*.

Leave a Reply

