Skip to content

Potatoes, for the record

February 20, 2011

…are in.

I put some in pots and some in the ground. I have about zero confidence that any of them will grow, since I have no idea what I’m doing, but that means that if we get a single potato, we’ll call it a success!

I think my containers are too small. I have four, all with 3-4 potato starters in them.

I think my garden soil (clay) is too compacted. But I put in about 5 plants.

But I am willing to give it a try. That counts for something, right?

Considering that my radish crop has yielded about one small half-handful of puny radishes, I’d say my gardening career is not starting out very promisingly, but we’ll see. I need to get some more dirt so I can keep up on the “hilling” of the potatoes. And we’ll just see how it goes. I really think my containers are too small. Can potatoes grow compactly?

Well, anyway. I have lots more containers for the tomatoes which will be planted later in the season, and I DO plan on making at least one raised bed, but it’s back to being very cold again so maybe I’ll do it in March.

I’m trying to go with the “enthusiasm counts” method. Because clearly skill is not going to grow any plants around here this year.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2011 7:24 pm

    Can’t wait to see how this will go…

    I am going to do some planting this year. I fear total failure. But how else will I learn, right? Houston weather is just so damn hot and often dry…until it rains for a week straight and floods.

    Most of my planting will be in pots this year. I am pretending that I live in a brownstone in NYC and my only option is a rooftop garden.

    • February 21, 2011 9:48 am

      Awesome! I have plans for a raised bed, but that requires building it… yeah. So, for now, containers! We’ll experiment together.

      • February 21, 2011 8:08 pm

        im with the dani plan on gardening, mainly because i *dont* have a lot of space. i think im going to do lots of herbs and garnish-y type plants. i seem to not kill them too often.

        i cant wait to see the outcome of your potatoes. im intrigued.

      • February 22, 2011 7:23 am

        I recommend giant pots of basil! I did that at our last apartment. I used up every single bit of it!

  2. February 20, 2011 8:14 pm

    I tried potatoes once years ago…know what I did? I put a whole potato in the ground thinking it would make baby potatoes :p Needless to say my stupid ass got nothing but rotten potatoes in the mud :/ Hope you have better luck than me!! LOL.

    • February 21, 2011 9:48 am

      I used seed potatoes, so I’m hoping they work out!

  3. February 21, 2011 2:24 am

    Good luck! The years that I’ve put in vegetables I’ve never done potatoes, but I have no idea why. I’ve had about a million people tell me it’s about the easiest thing in the world to grow – plus, you know, you can be picking and eating them the whole time they’re growing. Sounds like a total win to me.

    • February 21, 2011 9:49 am

      I’m crossing fingers. I’m wondering if I need to do something different with a couple of them; I make make some amendments today. The nice thing about potatoes is that you can find them — you can’t really adjust once you’ve planted tiny seeds!

  4. February 21, 2011 11:13 am

    Not an expert potato grower. I think my hub did them the one time we grew them. But I do know they are the crop that traditionally got planted where nothing else would grow–cold clayey rocky soil. So they are vital little things.

    • February 21, 2011 5:22 pm

      Ooh! That’s what I have! Cold clayey rocky soil! Crossing fingers…

Leave a Reply

