Skip to content

Accomplishments (salvaging the weekend)

February 21, 2011

Well. Despite the fact that I am ending the weekend with the nagging feeling that I didn’t do anything, or at least didn’t do anything right this weekend, I did get some stuff done. (seriously, having trouble shaking this inferiority funk. what is up with that?)

I read another book. The Revenge of the Wizard’s Ghost (which I won’t be reviewing, because how many gothic YA books do ya’ll want to read about?, but trust me, it’s every bit as good as any other Bellairs book). I read some magazines. I’m starting Fire and Hemlock. I did a tarot reading for myself. I did a couple of sketches. We had spaghetti.

I got up in the night on Saturday and almost fell over from vertigo. Like, crashed into the floor lamp, knocked over a pile of books and staggered into the wall, waking up everybody. Yeah. Might have to get that ear checked again sometime soon.

I made a gluten-free chocolate cake, because I have been jonesing for chocolate cake for several weeks now. It is very good — just as good as a wheat flour cake. The only problem is that for various reasons, it’s just me eating the cake, and how much cake can one girl eat? I might have to take it to work with me tomorrow.

We tested quite a few paint samples. We were seriously off on most of these. Really, really off.

We did decide on one! Watery, by Sherwin Williams. It’s this gorgeous soft robins-egg blue, which accomplishes everything we wanted from our bedroom paint color: spa-like, relaxing, yet saturated and pretty in all lights, not too cool, not too warm. It’s perfect. Whew. We’ve been looking at chips for… six months? Yeah.

Even managed to get out of the house a little — planted those potatoes, and considered weeding, although I didn’t. It was rainy and cold all weekend, but the sun came out a bit this afternoon. This is the plum tree, breaking into beautiful bloom.

Busy week ahead. I didn’t go grocery shopping. We had a vet visit here today to check on Katie. We love this vet — she calls Katie “Sugarpuss.” Today as Katie was yowling and growling like the devil, the vet says (with a soft southern accent, I think she’s from North Carolina or something), “Oh my goodness gracious sakes alive, what a grumpy girl!” Terri and I collapsed into laughter: the perfect response to Katie’s fuss. We usually turn tail and run. We love this vet.

My goals for this week: a small sketch a day (preferably in the morning before I even get dressed for work). Get all my stuff done at work without having a breakdown. Eat a real dinner every night. And a real lunch. Keep the worrying at bay. What am I worrying about? I have no idea. I am just beset with nagging thoughts, none of which I can put my finger on.

And more reading. Harriet The Spy should cancel out some nagging half-thoughts, don’t you think?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 7:30 pm

    How much cake can one girl eat? Is that a real question? The answer, of course, is the WHOLE CAKE!

    Anyway. You’ll feel better after you eat a REAL lunch of mac-n-cheese.

    You’ll have to tell me more about all of this worrying. It seems like a mini tidal wave of worry. Which is probably mostly unnecessary. 🙂

    The blue paint color is lovely, by the way. That yellow/orange… hmmm. That might be better titled, “WAKE UP ALREADY, IT’S MORNING YELLOW.” Phew!

    • February 21, 2011 7:53 pm

      It reminded me of the orange in your condo!!

      • February 21, 2011 7:54 pm

        (it was supposed to be a soft apricot. yeah… not so much. also, the green was supposed to be emerald, not forest, and the black-brown was supposed to be a rich plum. Like I said. Off.)

  2. February 21, 2011 8:05 pm

    ooh that watery color is gorgeous!

    i made a chocolate cake this weekend too, for jays bd. although mine wasnt gf. one of the good things about having kids around is that they are always up for cake, so i dont eat the whole thing. 😉

    • February 21, 2011 9:04 pm

      Yeah. Why don’t you guys move down here so I can feed you all my leftover cake? Pleeze?

      • D'Arcy permalink
        February 22, 2011 5:39 am

        Or you could move closer to me, and we could bake together, and help each other eat the goodies. My kids would help, too.

      • February 22, 2011 7:22 am

        But then we would have double goodies! Double-big butts!

  3. February 22, 2011 4:20 am

    I’ve got nagging thoughts too. They keep me up at night. And, I can’t pinpoint the cause of this anxiety. Glad I’m not alone.

    Your vet sounds like a keeper.

    • February 22, 2011 7:23 am

      It’s not fun, right? Here’s to calmer thoughts soon…

  4. February 22, 2011 9:01 am

    Harriet sounds perfect. Her thoughts were very definite. You will want tomato sandwiches so badly though!

  5. February 23, 2011 11:43 am

    Yummy cake, pretty flowering plum tree, a lovely color choice for your bedroom, an awesome vet, what’s to worry about? Take a deep breath and relax 🙂

  6. March 1, 2011 11:50 am

    WATERY is beautiful. I like that purple (of course) and the navy square is cool.
    My kitchen is orange…

Leave a Reply

