Skip to content

Snail Truffles (adventures in cake pops)

February 27, 2011

Look. What. I. Made. Chocolate Snail Cake Truffle!

I had leftover cake from last weekend. I had my book club coming over this Sunday for our meeting. We read The Sound of a Wild Snail Eating. I needed a dessert. I thought of cake pops, but then I realized, no! Snail pops! And then I realize, no! Snail truffles served on leaves!

So. Cake crumbs mixed with cream cheese frosting, rolled into balls.

Then dipped in melted chocolate chips. (I made the heads separately, using a toothpick to dip in chocolate, then nudged the head up against the shell).

Chilled well in the freezer, and then used white gel frosting to create the swirl, and chocolate sprinkles for eyestalks. If I’d really been awesome I would have made white royal icing, but I hate frosting and I hate making frosting, so I just used gross white gel from a tube. Royal would definitely have been better but I didn’t have the patience to make it.

Chilled overnight in the freezer, and voila! Served on orange leaves with a camellia garnish.

These were unbearably adorable and extremely sweet. Like, almost too sweet. Very good with coffee. One snail was plenty per person.

I’m not totally sold on cake pops on the whole. I think I would have liked them better more cakey and less truffle-y on the inside (it was very dense and moist, really like a truffle), and the chocolate coating was intensely rich. I would have preferred a much thinner, less sweet coating. But, they were darn cute and I used up my cake!

(mom, I saved you one!)

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    February 27, 2011 5:03 pm

    YAY!!!! Perfect bedtime treat πŸ™‚

    • February 27, 2011 5:21 pm

      I won’t leave it on your pillow. But yes. πŸ™‚

  2. February 27, 2011 6:08 pm

    these are absolutely adorable. i almost flipped when i got the email. i love how you served them on leaves. too cute.

    • February 27, 2011 6:40 pm

      Thanks! They were not especially over-the-top delicious, but they were super duper cute!

  3. February 28, 2011 10:03 am

    So cute! And so very creative!

  4. February 28, 2011 8:12 pm

    Wow.

    You go all out, girl.

    • March 1, 2011 11:46 am

      just every once in awhile when I get an inspiration. how could I not? SNAIL TRUFFLES?!

  5. March 1, 2011 1:27 am

    You are awesome.

    • March 1, 2011 11:47 am

      Only when it comes to bizarre confections, and even then, not often. But I loved these!

  6. March 1, 2011 11:45 am

    very VERY cool! You are just too creative! wow.

  7. March 1, 2011 4:18 pm

    I love your little snails. They are so cute. I’m reading a book about cupcakes right now. And as I try to shed about 20 extra pounds yummy snails and cupcakes are wearing down my resolve.

    • March 2, 2011 9:04 am

      Cupcakes are from the devil! (Devil’s food cupcakes?)

  8. March 10, 2011 4:04 pm

    These look quite delicious! What fun to see them! Thanks, too, for the very thoughtful book review. With all best wishes, ETB ~@~”

    • March 11, 2011 2:22 pm

      Thank you for coming by! We all *loved* your book. Many good thoughts and wishes to you. Thank you for writing this beautiful book.

Leave a Reply

