Skip to content

(i have no idea what to title this)

March 8, 2011

Yeah.

Ugh. Grief is hard. We were not expecting to lose Cleo so quickly. She had heart failure and wasn’t doing well at all. It was horrible. Poor baby girl. We are all missing her so much. Sweet little fluff girl. She was sometimes an Eeyore, but always the sweetest pretty kitty, with beautiful big fluffy furry paws and her big feather tail. I had her for around 16 years, since she was a little kitten (my very first kitten all my own), and we loved her every single day of them. She and Terri had a special bond. This is hard on everyone.

Katie (age 17-ish) is having a bit of a rough time too, but hopefully is stabilized with some medicine and extra love. We just want to shower her with love. She has been reaching out and comforting us. Thomas is being a comfort too — his big healthy solidness is wonderful to hug. He is a snuggle boy. They are both missing Cleo too. We still can’t believe she’s gone. It’s just awful.

In addition to all this, we are worried about another family member currently hospitalized with possible pneumonia. So we are a kind of stressed right now.

My mom arrived the afternoon of the day we lost Cleo. It was good to have her here. We decided that we wanted to plant a memorial on Cleo’s grave, so my mom helped us do it. We planted big fluffy “Bunny Tail” feather grass, bleeding hearts, sweet forest violets. Mom also helped me rip out the big strip of ice plant that we hated. After ripping up half of it, we discovered a brick walkway! I should have taken before-and-after photos because it’s kind of amazing, but I was really out of it all weekend. I’ll take some photos of all of this over the weekend.

Anyway. The weekend passed in a blur of gardening, sewing (Mom finished my summer thrifted-sheet quilt for me — I helped. Thanks, Mom!), a little cooking, a little shopping, and lots of visiting. Thomas kept Mom company by sleeping under the covers with her. We haven’t had him in our bed all night yet because he likes to eat Katie’s food and sometimes goes after her, but he is a lover boy.

I’m reading Harriet The Spy. I have limited brain power right now but it’s a fun read. I finished Fire and Hemlock and loved it, although the ending was a bit confusing to me. Reviews of a bunch of books coming up… keeping things really simple at the moment.

Might be a bit quiet here until the weekend. I am just not operating on full brain power at the moment.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2011 10:54 pm

    šŸ˜¦ *hugs* Her memorial planting sounds wonderful. I’m sorry Daphne šŸ˜¦

  2. March 9, 2011 7:41 am

    The memorial planting sounds lovely. Hugs to all of you.

  3. March 9, 2011 9:33 am

    ā¤

  4. March 9, 2011 12:32 pm

    i hope all is better soon. šŸ™‚ you are in my thoughts.

  5. March 9, 2011 6:43 pm

    I hope you are doing better. I know better is relative, but still…

    Thinking of you.

    • March 9, 2011 8:26 pm

      Thank you. I am doing better. Sometimes you have to fall apart before you can put yourself back together. Right?

  6. March 12, 2011 1:45 am

    Oh no šŸ˜¦ I hit “Mark all as read” after my trip to Ireland so I’d missed your post. I’m so so sorry, Daphne šŸ˜¦ Sending you and Terri much love and warm thoughts.

    • March 12, 2011 9:35 am

      Thanks, Ana. I know you know this particular grief.

Leave a Reply

