Skip to content

Springen, sprung, gesproinged?

March 14, 2011

Somewhere, my German teacher Herr Giddings is clutching his chest in agony and wondering who is butchering German verbs so viciously…

Well. Over the weekend, spring arrived! Lots of flowery photos to share, But first, my summer thrifted-sheet quilt! I can’t take much credit for the finishing of this; my mom pretty much did it for me (thanks, Mom!) but I watched and learned (and helped. Some.) so maybe I can do it by myself the next time I make a quilt. You know, 10 years from now. I think it turned out so pretty. The back is a lovely pear-green high-quality sheet that I found for $3 — so soft and silky. The “filling” is an old blanket. I can’t wait to wrap up in it on a spring day in the hammock, or spread it out for an afternoon summer picnic…

Also, because it’s too cute not to share: Thomas vs. The Squirrel.

The front porch: camellias, tulip magnolias, spring flowers.

Cleo’s garden: Bleeding hearts, fuzzy bunny-tail grass (the dry clump in the back; it will grow), sweet forest violets, gray fuzzies.

 

And a bunch of other pretty pictures for you!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 1:37 pm

    i love all of these pictures! and your quilt came out great. love the header. (i just changed mine last night to a squirrel theme one myself.)

  2. March 14, 2011 1:52 pm

    You did it! Your mom did it! Either way, I love your quilt. Love it. But, you knew I would. And that squirrel shot — you have to enter it in a contest. It is so funny!

    • March 14, 2011 4:59 pm

      I’m so glad it’s done! Hurray for moms! I doubt my squirrel shot is good enough for a contest, but I’ll keep my eye out for one. 🙂

  3. March 14, 2011 2:03 pm

    Very beautiful, and much different than the snow that fell overnight here! And that cat v. squirrel picture is too hilarious.

  4. March 14, 2011 6:32 pm

    Love this post!!! Thank you, Daphne. The Squirrel is hilarious (we have 3 who come to our window regularly), the quilt is lovely, and the garden photos – oh, I long for spring here, signs of green! I’m going to come back here and stare at your photo of the magnolia tree until our spring starts, in another month or so. I want to be in our garden again! – not covered with snow, but growing, I mean 🙂

    • March 14, 2011 6:39 pm

      Hi Susan! Aren’t those squirrels funny? I am loving spring this year, so much!

  5. March 15, 2011 7:03 am

    Spring! It’s on the way here but we won’t see flowers until mid-April at the earliest. Your quilt is gorgeous. And I love the photo of the squirrel and Thomas. Waldo would not be sitting so nicely. When the squirrels come on the deck he throws himself at the window.

    • March 16, 2011 2:54 pm

      of course! Thomas did too, although after awhile I think he was just dumbfounded at the gall of this guy.

  6. March 15, 2011 7:50 am

    that squirrel vs. cat picture is hilarious! And I LOVE that quilt. I’m still trying to work up the nerve to try and make a quilt.

    • March 15, 2011 3:55 pm

      You should! This was SO easy. Well, the top, anyway. Email me if you want the how-to, it was very fun and easy.

  7. March 15, 2011 10:16 am

    Thomas was either sitting quietly like this, or frantically meowing and clawing at the door, take your pick. I think he was stunned at the squirrel’s gall of standing RIGHT THERE!

  8. Erin permalink
    March 15, 2011 8:52 pm

    Daph, your garden for Cleo is truly wonderful and I love the little kitty in the middle. That is a great tribute and obviously very thoughtful and heartfelt! The squirrel vs Thomas picture is hilarious, it crakes me up…

    • March 16, 2011 2:54 pm

      thanks, you. the little garden helps just a little teeny tiny itty bitty bit. 🙂

  9. March 17, 2011 1:45 pm

    Wow! Spring has sprung!

    Love it all. I can see your smile through this post.

    • March 17, 2011 7:05 pm

      Spring makes me happy, especially when there are flowers everywhere!

Leave a Reply

