Skip to content

a mid-week roundup

March 17, 2011
  • Happy St. Patrick’s Day! One of the more pointless holidays here in America, but I always wear green anyway because it’s my favorite color. No beer or cabbage at our house, but I will attempt a gluten-free Irish soda bread.
  • Going through a bit of a funk this week. A combination of a highly annoying work project (actually, the project is fine, but everything *around* the project is exasperating), shock and concern about what’s happening in Japan, grief about Cleo (I am still waiting for her to come out in the morning to be fed, and then I realize, and then… ugh.), and general information overload from every sector in my life (it feels like). I’m trying to just let it be funky, while eating more fruits and veggies and giving myself a break. Still, I’d like to shake it soon.
  • I’m reading Artemis Fowl, because a very special small person in my life insisted that I read it. It’s okay. It’s actually not too bad, but it has The Red Tent syndrome. It’s good, but it could be so much better!! My little friend gave me four of the books, but I’m afraid I might only make it through Book 1.
  • I’m also reading To Kill A Mockingbird, which unlike the aforementioned book, probably could not be much better if it tried. I’m only a chapter in and I already adore it. I’m finding myself hesitating to read it before bed, because I want to be totally awake to enjoy the whole thing. I am racing through Artemis Fowl so I can focus on Mockingbird.
  • Loving this new tea I found: Sweet Thai Delight by Yogi. It’s like a coconut chai (decaf) and sooo delicious. It’s been my afternoon treat this week as I slog through each day.
  • Very much looking forward to all the yard work I need to do this weekend. Mow the lawn, clean up around the camellia, kill some dandelions (and decide how much I want to care about such things), do some weeding, possibly purchase a small raised bed (found on Craigslist) and put some plants in. And I want a rhubarb, I’ve decided. (but maybe next year)
  • Speaking of raised beds, I’m now thinking I should just do four 4′ x 4′ beds, instead of two 4 x 8s. Easier for me to build and manage. I can actually fathom making those, instead of wrangling with giant eight-foot long boards. In which case, I will probably just make all four, instead of purchasing the one I found on craigslist. It’s green weather-proof plastic… and I think I’d want them all to match. Weathered wood is so attractive. I found an easy how-to for the beds and I think I can do at least one or two soon.
  • Also trying to decide if I can plant tomatoes in the ground at my selected site, or if I need to do containers. First, I need to clear all the clover. Poor Clover Alley. You are beautiful but your time is nearly done.
  • And now I’m just rambling.

Hope you are having an excellent Day O’Green.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2011 8:37 am

    I had an excellent day o’ green wearing a green dress and green cardigan sweater because the dress is sleeveless and it is not sleeveless weather here yet. Someone even asked if I were Irish and I can happily answer in the affirmative as my mother’s mother was a Kirkpatrick. Sorry to hear about your funk but I am so glad you are enjoying To Kill a Mockingbird. all of your gardening chat is making my fingers yearn to dig into the dirt but I have a month to go before that can happen. Sigh.

    • March 18, 2011 2:40 pm

      That sounds adorable! Next year I totally need a green dress. It is extremely stormy here this weekend — I was looking forward to some putzing around in the dirt but that won’t happen this weekend, unless I am willing to get soaked to the bone (no thanks!)

  2. March 18, 2011 10:52 am

    I couldn’t get through Artemis Fowl. Too many guns and too much twirling (figuratively) of villainous mustaches. It’s going to be a gardening weekend for me too, slippery quagmire or no. Sounds like you have a raised-bed plan that will serve you better in the long run. I’d be inclined to get the craigslist bed too, just for the instant gratification and lack of sawing–maybe put it somewhere separate where it won’t clash with the prettier wood ones you’re going to build, or else put it up on craigslist again if you don’t use it. But then, I am something of a craigslist addict, and like to hedge my bets!

    That is so tough with Cleo. Cats imbue a place in strange ways. My granny has described having some memory glitches lately, where she thinks she sees a black cat curled up on a chair out of the corner of her eye, or slipping in the back door around her ankles. The funny thing is, Pussycat, their last cat, has been gone for more than 30 years.

    • March 18, 2011 2:43 pm

      Yeah, it’s pretty contrived. At this point I’m only reading it because I owe a little girl a book report. 🙂 I know what you mean about the raised bed! I decided not to — I found a good how-to for the raised beds, and I can just have them sawn at the home supply store, so I think I’ll just do that. I was trying to have at least one done in March, but April is reasonable too. I’m aiming for two 4×4 beds this year, and then two more next year.

      Pets live on in our memories for as long as we live, especially the ones we have for long periods of time. I miss her so much, and I’ve been missing my other kitty, Tiger Lily, who died about a year an a half ago, too. We are super-duper lovin’ on our sweet Katie girl, and of course Thomas is being a big comfort too, although there’s just something about older kitties…

  3. March 18, 2011 9:49 pm

    i did nothing for st paddys day. i dont really get that holiday. i even have a bit of irish in me, and i still dont really get it. but i did get a nifty green sticker at trader joes that reads, ” this is my green. go pinch someone else.” very me.

    i also did a bit of container gardening. some herbs and some spincah plants. if i get enough spinach for a few green smoothies, ill be pleased.

    • March 19, 2011 11:02 am

      I love that sticker. It is totally you!
      Let me know how the spinach goes. I’ve just got potatoes right now (you could totally do potatoes in a bag on your porch!). I am waiting for April for the “real” gardening. Right? I’m not just putting it off? Right?

  4. March 21, 2011 8:41 pm

    We are planning the raised beds as well. If I can get The Mr. to make time to build them. Ahem.

    I LOVE MOCKINGBIRD! Best book evah!

    I will admit to keeping The Girl’s hair cut like Scout’s in the movie.

Leave a Reply

