Skip to content

goal-setting

March 18, 2011

I’m not one for goals, generally. Sure, every once in awhile I pull one out, set it down, look at it, and maaaaaaybe work on it for awhile. In terms of accomplishment, I think I should be more of a goal-setter but actually I’m more spontaneous. I wait around and then all of a sudden, find something I want to do or make or accomplish, and that’s that. I do it. But generally, my life is full enough without adding more stuff on top of it.

That’s neither here nor there. What I wanted to talk about was this weekend ahead. I have had, for various reasons, a string of crummy weeks. I’m ready for some really good rejuvenation. This weekend is supposed to be cold, wet, windy, and all around very stormy. I was planning on doing a lot of outside work but apparently my plans have been derailed by Mother Nature. So. How to relax this weekend? Here’s my plan (small goals, if you will):

  • Take at least one long hot bath
  • Stay up late reading, and then sleep in.
  • Get some work done on my new owl painting (green! with a golden owl!)
  • Do just enough housework so I can relax (is anyone else like this? if the carpet is vacuumed, kitchen is clean, and bathrooms wiped down, I’m good to go. Otherwise I get all antsy about it.)
  • Work on my new graphic design website (as long as it’s fun. If it starts to get frustrating, I’m done. I think it will be fun.)
  • Make some cookies.
  • Replace a brake light on the car (being a grease monkey is fun, as long as it’s an easy job like this)
  • Watch some movies on Netflix.
  • Make something yummy from Moosewood.
  • Maybe do something about the dangerously high piles of magazines and books on my side of the bed.

Seriously, I have a bunch of un-fun crap I need to do, but I *think* if I just do a minor amount of pre-work and reminder-setting, I can put it off until next week. Because I really, really, really need to feed my soul this weekend. Today was better, but I’m kind of empty. I got nuthin’. Enthusiasm for un-fun tasks is pretty much running on “E.”

So this list sounds like just enough ‘get stuff done’ so that my Virgo self can relax, and a lot of other enjoyable things.

But really, if all I get done is sleep, read, paint and bake, that would be a pretty good weekend too.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2011 9:44 pm

    i think that sounds like a lovely weekend.

    goal wise, im the same way. if i actually make goals about things, it seems as if i never do them. but if i just take care of things as my mood prompts me to, things get done and im in a much better mood about it all.

    • March 19, 2011 10:59 am

      I know, right? Suddenly it becomes the very last thing I want to do if I say it’s a “goal”.

  2. March 18, 2011 11:40 pm

    I like the “stay up late reading, then sleep in” goal!

    • March 19, 2011 11:00 am

      Me too! Hoping I can actually stay up late tonight! Last night I pooped out at 10 pm. I did sleep in , however…

  3. Mom permalink
    March 19, 2011 7:50 am

    Starting on these small “goals” may give you a kick start to go on a bit easier to the “un-fun” stuff. You do need some soul rejuvenation. I agree :).

  4. Lara permalink
    March 19, 2011 4:28 pm

    Ooh I love your list! Sometimes I like goals/do-do lists because it feels so good to knock them off the list

    I don’t get antsy about cleanliness, but I do about clutter. I can go a long, long time between vacuuming and mopping, but I need to do a clutter-sweep before I can relax.

    • March 21, 2011 8:48 am

      I’m addicted to to-do lists, but the big goals I falter on. But yeah — decluttering and vacuuming is big for me. I can skip the floor-wash, esp since now we have a brown floor! I highly recommend this brown-kitchen-floor thing.

  5. March 19, 2011 5:39 pm

    I’ve had some really crummy weeks too, and you’re weekend “goals” sound a lot like mine. I’ve already scoured the house today so I can relax the rest of my weekend. (tomorrow and monday, lol)

    I can’t wait to see the owl painting. I have a thing for owls, they are ALLLL over my house, so you know…if you find you want to part with it. *winks*

    Lastly, what is moosewood?

    • March 21, 2011 8:49 am

      I have a thing for owls too!! I’ll send you a print if I make one. πŸ™‚

      Moosewood: The Moosewood Cookbook, by Mollie Katzen. A holy book in the vegetarian-cooking canon. πŸ™‚ You would love it!!

  6. March 20, 2011 10:01 am

    I used to write goals down (maybe they were more like to-do lists). Anyhow, it was discouraging when nothing got crossed off. So enough of that. Now, I just know myh weekends will be filled with cleaning, cooking and maybe a few crafts or a book or two. I hope your weekend was everything you wished for.

    • March 21, 2011 8:49 am

      It was! Weekends are definitely a balance, but I needed one skewed towards the lazy.

  7. March 20, 2011 8:30 pm

    After three crummy months, I decided that limping on crutches this past week meant I could take a weekend off, too. So I read yesterday, and played Monopoly with the kids. Today I was able to stand without any pain in my knee, so I baked some cookies, which always makes me feel restored too. Reading, eating, and playing: maybe we all need some soul time! I hope you had a really good restorative time too this weekend, Daphne.

    • March 21, 2011 8:50 am

      That sounds excellent!! I’m hoping to bake some cookies today. We all need weekends “off” sometimes.

  8. March 21, 2011 8:12 am

    I hope you got to have the nice rejuvenating weekend you were hoping for!

  9. March 21, 2011 8:38 pm

    I like that you made a plan for the weekend…with goals for relaxation and enjoyment instead of just chores.

    I need to follow your lead.

Leave a Reply

