Skip to content

the old man is snoring

March 21, 2011
tags: , ,

In the 10-day forecast: Rain, rain, showers, clouds, rain, rain, rain. I feel like I’m back in Oregon! Part of me loves it, and part of me is ready for some sun. We had a few sunny (but cold) days in there a week or two back but it’s definitely Northwesterly weather right now. It was PERFECT for this weekend.

(this is brightly lit, but it’s Thomas looking out at the rain and wishing his birds would come back so he can chatter at them)

My weekend was very successful in terms of not getting stuff done. Go, me! Actually, did get stuff done, but in as relaxing a way as possible. Witness:

  • 1 hot bath complete with homemade face mask and paperback
  • Finished Artemis Fowl, read some more of Mockingbird
  • Vacuumed (and that’s it for housework, folks!)
  • Started a pencil portrait of Katie
  • Stayed up until 2 am watching Battlestar Galactica, and then slept in until 10 the next day. Wow.
  • This preceeded the day when I spent ALL DAY in bed, watching more BSG and working on my new graphic design website.
  • Made two actual meals, although they were extremely simple (an avocado salad and some brown-butter mushroom pasta)

And that’s pretty much all I did all weekend. I barely got dressed on Saturday, when I ran out to the store for a few minutes (and noticed that pretty much everyone at the store was in sweats or jammies too), and yesterday I didn’t leave the house (or hardly the bed) at all. I was semi-industrious and worked on my website (and actually enjoyed it!) but mostly we just watched Battlestar Galactica (wow, it’s so good!) and lazed around. I feel so much better today. I didn’t get any of my grown-up stuff done, but I think I can do it all this week.

So what’s left? Today I’m hoping to make some cookies, although Terri has been hinting that she would like more soda bread (I found a great GF recipe) so maybe I’ll just do that. Maybe get started on the owl (the background is in, now I need to sketch in the shapes of the owl and tree). And read some more. And if it stops raining, mow the lawn because my dad is coming for a short visit this week and I don’t want to get the “don’t let that lawn get too high, now!” lecture! (he wouldn’t really lecture, but it IS growing like crazy). And I actually have to get dressed and go to CostCo and get the brake light too.

SIGH. Time to ramp up for the week ahead. Still, am feeling somewhat more human after two days of pretty much complete laziness.

As a parting gift, my front-porch spring bouquet pot looks so good! I love that we have our own flowers.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    March 21, 2011 1:23 pm

    LOVE your new website. Good work!!! Sounds like a very successful weekend to me :).

  2. March 21, 2011 8:37 pm

    I love rainy days…when I don’t have to get out and about. Something about that grey sky and the way the light is all shadowy in the living room just makes me all cozy inside.

    • March 24, 2011 5:21 pm

      It’s perfect for staying inside, right? I love it.

  3. March 21, 2011 8:48 pm

    Ah I love rainy days SO much 🙂 Though I’m sorry you’re getting nothing but them, lol. Your weekend sounds absolutely AMAZING!! Gah, I haven’t had a weekend like that in a long time and I could use one :p And your tulips and hyacinths are oh so gorgeous 🙂

  4. March 22, 2011 6:31 am

    Hooray for having a lazy weekend! Isn’t BSG awesome? James and I are on season 2.5 and only allow ourselves to watch one episode a night while we exercise. Don’t want to rush through them too fast! Your rain has made here. We had thunder last night and it was pouring this morning. It’s supposed to rain all day and then tonight turn to snow with about 4 inches by Wednesday morning.

    • March 24, 2011 5:22 pm

      We love it!! We are addicted and are trying to save them for “treats” but of course sometimes we overindulge… sorry about sending the bad weather your way…

  5. March 22, 2011 9:10 am

    i love this post. i think you perfected the art of taking it easy-a little bit of productivity with a little bit of low key lazy.

    ive been seeing your area has been pretty wet and figured you were probably enjoying it. we’ve had a few sunny days around here lately and i think for the first time in my life im not annoyed by it.

    • March 24, 2011 5:23 pm

      It’s amazing what weeks and weeks of rain will do for your attitude towards sun, right? I love the rain, but after months of it, some sun is awfully nice. You’ll love summer. And then be really ready for the rainy fall.

  6. March 23, 2011 5:11 pm

    Your weekend sounds wonderful….I want to laze around and not get dressed! Maybe this weekend. Your tulips are such a bright spot.

    • March 24, 2011 5:24 pm

      Spending the day in bed was perfect. I think I need to do this at least once a month.

Leave a Reply

