Skip to content

Book: To Kill A Mockingbird

March 26, 2011
tags:

Holy moly, what a fantastic novel. I can’t imagine what took me so long to read this! Why, why, why? I absolutely loved it, from the very first sentence to the last. And now I really want to see the movie too.

To tell you the truth, I’m a bit too worn out to do a really good review/thoughts, but for a book like this, there are plenty of reviews and papers and commentaries, and really, what am I going to add to that?

I loved Scout, I loved Atticus, I loved Jem and Calpurnia and at the end, I loved, loved, loved Boo Radley.

I cried a couple of times. And laughed a lot. And thought a lot.

Loved how honest and sometimes backwards Scout’s eight-year-old thinking was. Loved Atticus’s cool dry demeanor. Loved Jem’s growing complexity. Loved Calpurnia’s dignity. Loved the 1930s small Southern town, as much as I didn’t love their hypocritical ways. Loved the honesty of this book.

Yep, that’s pretty much about it. What else can you say that hasn’t already been said? I feel like I should have read this at least 20 years ago, but now it’s firmly placed up there with All-Time Favorite Books. It wasn’t preachy, it was so true to life and such a good story.

Now the dilemma: what can I read now? That’s a pretty hard act to follow.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2011 10:22 am

    The last time I read this book was back in high school. I’ve been seeing more and more reviews of it on-line lately….I suppose I should re-read it. Probably one of my teenagers has a copy lying around somewhere….

    • March 27, 2011 8:44 pm

      It was so good! I just loved it. I would think it would hold up really well to a re-read.

  2. Lara Starr permalink
    March 27, 2011 8:59 pm

    I *think* I’ve read it since high school, but def. need to put it on the list to re-read

    The movie is wonderful. Best line, “Chiffffaaaaroooobe!”

    • March 28, 2011 8:56 am

      I can’t wait to watch the movie! Never seen that either. What is the matter with me? The book was SO wonderful.

  3. March 28, 2011 9:47 am

    Loved the book, have read it a couple times. Love the movie. I’ve had a crush on Gregory Peck/Atticus ever since.

  4. March 28, 2011 7:17 pm

    It’s sheer perfection.

    • March 29, 2011 8:13 am

      It is, isn’t it? It pretty much has secured a place in my short list of “Best Books Ever.”

Leave a Reply

