Skip to content

alien hand syndrome and cthulhu

April 22, 2011

Wow, I have barely posted for a couple of weeks. What’s up with that?

I’ve just been busy. I’ve had some freelance work (which is great! but time-consuming) and just been really tired. Katie is still with us, still adorable, still waking us up a few times a night (very gently, and sweetly, but still…). It’s so hard to go through this; we love her so much. Thomas has managed to get a wee bit chubby so he’s on a mini-diet. He doesn’t appreciate this very much. He’s such a love; just a sweet, sweet kitty boy. I’m so glad we have him.

I’ve been trying to listen to The Heart is a Lonely Hunter but iTunes didn’t label the chapters correctly so I have to fix that somehow. Instead, I’ve been listening to Chuck and Josh’s Stuff You Should Know podcast. I love this podcast! I try not to listen to too many podcasts because I really value my “reading” time, but their podcast is so much fun, I’m kind of addicted. Yesterday I listened about Alien Hand Syndrome. Today I heard about Cthulhu. I love it.

I did manage to put in the second raised bed last weekend. Woohoo! Go, me! It was actually much more difficult than the first one, I think ironically because the boards were much lighter (I used 2x6x8s). I had to hold them in place while I drilled and screwed it all together. That was hard. I got more blisters and my right shoulder hurt for days. I hope at least I’m getting stronger from all this building!

So we have one 4′ x 7′ bed, 8″ high, and one 4′ x 8′, 6″ high. We’ll see how each works out. We’ve planted corn, beans, peas, and radishes and lettuces in the new bed. Oh, and a couple more cucumbers. Also a melon and an eggplant will go in there, just for fun. The sprouts in the first bed are taking off — I love them so much! I feel very protective of the little green babies. The potatoes are doing amazing. I’m still not convinced that they are actually making potatoes, as far as I’m concerned they are just really large pretty green plants at this point. I’ll post photos after I get the last few plants in the ground. Then it’s time to pot all the herbs, some from seed and some from starts. I’ve always wanted an herb garden but haven’t really been successful in the past. So we’ll see.

I have to say that I’m pretty proud of myself for making these beds, and on-time, too. Just barely on time! I can’t seem to get around to painting the bathroom, but doggone it, I wanted to make those beds. With any luck we’ll have a decent first-year garden. I’m finding that all I want to do is think about the garden, plan for future gardens, figure out how to get the most tomatoes this first year, all that stuff. What I really need to do, at this point, is weed the rest of the yard, good lord. I am going to try spraying vinegar on the tough ones, it has worked really great on the errant grass sprouts coming up through the patio cracks and stuff.

So things are okay, although we are both struggling with sadness about Katie and Cleo, and feeling a tad overwhelmed in general, although there’s nothing particularly overwhelming going on. There’s just this sort of miasma of anxiety and worry and grief and dread hanging around, and that’s draining.

This weekend I plan on doing some yard stuff: weeding, mowing, general maintenance. There is a huge overgrown section that needs serious attention but I think I’m not quite ready to start on that yet. I also have a tiny bit more freelance work to do, and I don’t think I’ve put clothes away for two weeks, so yeah, need to do something about that. I want to make a rhubarb pie and help Terri select her photo to enter in the fair, and maybe think about making some marmalade before all the oranges are gone. There are so many things to do. I love it, but I’m feeling a little overwhelmed — although that’s not really the right word. Stretched might be more accurate. It’s that feeling like when you at a party, and it’s slightly overwhelming but you do want to be there, and then all of a sudden the party pitch rises slightly and before you know it, you’re gritting your teeth and “having a good time” but really you just want to go home and go to bed.

Yeah, like that.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2011 10:12 pm

    Gardening becomes so addictive doesn’t it? LOL..I’ve been doing it for years now and it still controls my thoughts all the time :p Congrats!! They sound AMAZING!

    • April 23, 2011 8:53 am

      I’m totally addicted! It’s like, all I can think about. Crazy.

  2. April 23, 2011 3:33 am

    sorry that you are so down.. i hope the gardening takes your mind off of things long enough to get a break..

    • April 23, 2011 8:53 am

      Thank you — it really helps. Some days are worse than others — today feels okay so far.

  3. April 23, 2011 11:59 am

    congrats on all the gardening work youve done!

    and i say save the bathroom painting for a day when the weather stinks and you dont want to be outside.

    • April 23, 2011 2:01 pm

      the bathroom might even wait until the fall… it’s fine, I just don’t love the color. right now the bedroom has higher priority paint-wise, it’s horrible.

Leave a Reply

