Skip to content

coconutty fresh

April 27, 2011

So, although I really really am trying to pull myself out of the current funk, the funk keeps following me around.

After the dogs went back to their rightful house, we missed them. They were so cute and it seemed like the house felt full again with them here, and I think we realized how much we missed Cleo, and Tiger Lily before her. And that Katie is leaving us. It just made the house seem emptier after they left. Although Thomas was certainly happier after they left.

And then yesterday was a horrible day. The sort of day where it starts off bad and only gets worse from there. I fell over trying to put on sweat pants in the morning. I forgot my lunch. I tried to use my library key fob instead of my regular work fob, to get in the door at work. Once I was at work, it only got worse. It was the sort of day where you feel like you are trapped in the worst horoscope of your life. The level of “are you kidding me?” moments was at an all-time high. It just kept up at this level ALL DAY until I left work, at which point the stupidness stopped but by that point my day felt wrecked. Usually I just shake it off and start with “now” but really, I felt like life had taken the heel of its boot and pressed firmly on my forehead.

Today I woke up and felt like crying, and then I did cry on the way to work (thank you, Carson McCullers; your book is beautiful but is making me cry daily). Oh! And while in the shower this morning, I conditioned my hair with coconut body wash.

Me: “Hmm. My hair is sudsing. This doesn’t usually happen with conditioner… oh.”

I couldn’t stand to wear my usual shoes one more day, either. (last year, I had to get rid of all my shoes, so I am still working with a limited shoe wardrobe and have been wearing the same black flats almost every workday for the past five months) So I put on black sandals instead, because it’s supposed to be in the mid 70s today. For some reason, now the the sandals are sticking to my feet and making a horrible sucking sound as I walk around. I said to my coworker, “My peoples are sticking to my feet! Wait. Not peoples. Shoes. Shoes!”

Sigh.

Anyway. It’s not all bad news. The garden is sprouting up beautifully and I will post photos soon. I’m reading The Wilder Life and it’s alternately satisfying and fun, and also kind of cheesily-written and so that’s making my inner critic have a good time as well. I recently made cookies so that’s always good too.

Hey. It’s the little things.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2011 11:55 am

    it is the little things.

    ive had these days before. the kind of day where around noon you realize you should have just stayed in bed.

    i have a pair of shoes that makes fart noises everytime i walk. they’re cute but farty sounding.

    • April 27, 2011 12:55 pm

      Fart shoes! Everyone has a pair.

      Yes, it was pretty obvious by around 9 am that I should have just gone back to bed like I’d longed to do. Oh well. Today started ominously but it’s merely dragging, not actively horrible like yesterday.

  2. D'Arcy permalink
    April 27, 2011 3:10 pm

    “I’ll be fine as soon as I get some blisters on my feet. Not blisters. BANANAS!!”

  3. D'Arcy permalink
    April 27, 2011 3:10 pm

    PS See? See how easy it is to do that?

  4. D'Arcy permalink
    April 27, 2011 3:12 pm

    PPS I tried to post my second comment right after my first and WordPress told me I was posting comments too fast and to slow down!

    • April 27, 2011 6:41 pm

      Slow down!! Your wittiness is too much for WordPress!!

      Yes, that exact phrase came to my mind!

  5. April 28, 2011 10:56 am

    Hope today is going better even with the noisy shoes. I have a pair of vegan shoes I got for Christmas from my mom, really cute, but they turn out to squeak and I work in a library. But they’re cute so sometimes I say screw it! and wear them anyway.

    • April 28, 2011 12:24 pm

      That’s funny. I am wearing them again today and they are squeaking less, whew! And I managed to use all the correct products in my hair today, so that’s a better start. 🙂

  6. Mom permalink
    April 29, 2011 7:05 am

    Daphie, you are EXHAUSTED!!!! I’m glad you’re staying home to REST!!!! Do nothing else, but REST!!!! Mama’s orders.

  7. April 29, 2011 8:44 am

    Love the “peoples” comment. It’s Friday — Yippee!! Go out for dinner tonight and enjoy the weekend. It sounds like it’s arriving in the nick of time!

Leave a Reply

