Skip to content

some reminders and some wantys

May 4, 2011

So, if you are feeling bummed out, overtired, stressed to the max, grouchy, irritable, mildly depressed and more anxious than usual, here are a few reminders for you:

  1. Get some extra sleep. Shut the book earlier (way earlier) than you’d like, and shut your eyes. Take a Benadryl (or two) if you have to.
  2. Drink a lot more water than you are used to.
  3. Eat a decent breakfast and lunch every day. Avoid sugar.
  4. Realize (for reals) that you can’t do/handle/solve/fix everything.
  5. Focus on right here-and-now, whatever that is, even if it’s just cleaning your desk, or making cookies.
  6. (PS: making cookies also helps)
Seriously. I did these few things and feel like a whole new person. I’d been feeling like I was heading downhill since about mid-February, about when our kitties started getting sick, and I couldn’t catch up with myself. A bunch of stuff happened, we had some visitors, our Cleo died, Katie’s health took a turn for the worse, Terri was in a terrible crash (illness, not car), and my anxiety was seriously getting out of control. Not happy.
I took last Friday off and focused on taking it easy this weekend, tempered with a little bit of good-for-the-soul yardwork. Die, weeds! Also, chopping back large overgrown shrubs is very satisfying.

I feel so much better. Better enough that I’m remembering that summer is around the corner in these here parts, and there are a few fun things I’m going to keep my eye out for in the thrift shops. I’m also going to make a habit of going to a few garage sales this summer.

  1. A glass pitcher for summer drinks. Iced mint tea, sun tea, lemonade, orangeade. I want something like this.
  2. Pretty summer dishes. They should be cheap and either non-breakable or so inexpensive that it doesn’t matter if they break. Something cheerful and vintage would be perfect.
  3. Pretty string lights for the patio.
  4. A fire pit. This one we will probably have to buy new somehow.
I recently discovered that there are two metal pipes driven in to ground level (so they have been hidden all this time). I was wondering what they were and was thinking of taking them out or covering them up because they hurt when you accidentally discover them with bare feet. But then I realized: they are stabilized slots for clothesline poles! They stretch across the sunniest part of the yard and it’s just dumb luck that I didn’t cover them up with the garden beds. So I need to figure out what sort of poles to stick in there. A much better solution than my current jerry-rigged line. That was an exciting discovery. It’s almost line-dry time.

So here’s to extra rest and hydration. I hate going to sleep early but I feel like a whole new person.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2011 10:32 am

    Great advice, and it does make a difference. I’m so glad we are finally in our new building at work. One of the perks is an ice machine. I find that if I can have ice handy I’ll drink a ton of water and don’t even think twice about it. I likes my water as cold as possible, otherwise it seems like a chore to drink.

    Getting some decent rest is so important to. It is SO HARD to go to bed early, but I’ve found that when I’m actually putting in a good day’s work it becomes much easier because my body lets me know that it is time to go ahead and go to sleep.

    Seth Godin posted this link in his email the other day and I just read it this morning. It is not exactly what you are saying but is somewhere along the same lines when it comes to getting the most out of life and you might enjoy it:

    http://www.austinkleon.com/2011/03/30/how-to-steal-like-an-artist-and-9-other-things-nobody-told-me/

  2. May 4, 2011 11:18 am

    That is a great article; thanks, Carl!

  3. May 4, 2011 11:26 am

    i totally agree with your advice. i actually took a nap the other day and woke up a whole new person. (im not much of a napper and have to force myself to take one sometimes.) but man did it feel good.

    i love your list of wantys, especially the refrigerator jug. i have a glass pitcher from C&B that i pull out this time of year. its perfect for ice tea, lemonade, and sangria with big hunks of fruit in it. buit i like how the one you linked to has a lid.

    and yay for the clothesline poles!

    • May 4, 2011 1:24 pm

      I HATE taking naps. I’m pretty bad at it. I usually wake up grumpier than before. But I do need to go to bed early during the week. I just have to!

      I was thinking I might have to go to the Crate and Barrel outlet store here in Berkeley and see if they have what I’m looking for (like that jug). I like the lid on this one.

      Yes, I’m very excited about the poles! I have to figure out the best way to do this.

  4. theveryhungrybookworm permalink
    May 4, 2011 1:33 pm

    Thank you for the reminder! I know I definitely need that advice every now and then. And yes, cookies do make everything better πŸ™‚

  5. May 4, 2011 2:45 pm

    That is fantastic advice, Daphne πŸ™‚ And how cool that you discovered clothes line poles!!! Whenever I get my own place, I certainly plan on drying the clothes outdoors…you can’t beat the smell of sunshine!

  6. D'Arcy permalink
    May 4, 2011 3:48 pm

    The city where I live prides itself on being innovative, intelligent (we actually won an Intelligent Community of the Year award) and environmentally friendly. There is a bylaw here against clotheslines and drying your laundry outdoors. Anyone else see anything wrong with that?

  7. Laura permalink
    May 5, 2011 5:24 am

    Great advice. I’m lacking sleep because I’m not drinking enough water, or eating the right food at the moment.

  8. May 5, 2011 4:21 pm

    I tried hanging dry my clothes on the single coldest day in recent memory. The sun was out and it was kind of windy, my clothes did dry up but they frozen and when some thawed, they were still a bit damp.

    Naps are very contentious. I’m on the anti side.

    • May 6, 2011 9:48 pm

      I’m anti nap too… but sometimes they seem like a good idea!

  9. May 6, 2011 9:23 am

    I am totally trying for 1-5 right now with the caveat that with a deadline, I really do have to do all of this, at once, and right now. Also your quest for cool drinks reminded me of this post that one of my old friends from home wrote recently: http://lavitadicuori.blogspot.com/2011/05/when-life-hands-you-lemons.html

    Now, I’m going to go have a pint. Because even if I have to do all of this, it’s certainly not getting done right now. Not when I’m so easily distracted that I’m trying to learn dance moves from the video of “Livin’ le Vida Loca.”

    I hope you have a great and beautiful weekend!

    • May 6, 2011 9:49 pm

      too funny. hey, thanks for the link!

      Now go live some Vida Loca!

Leave a Reply

