Skip to content

Day Three: Casual Taupe and Navy

May 11, 2011
tags:

Today is a casual day; we are off to see a new CFS doctor so I’ve got the day off.

Here’s today’s outfit. Let’s see:

Navy scoop-neck T from the Gap

weekend jeans

taupe/fawn cotton cardigan from H&M

favorite thrifted scarf

Dr. Scholl’s wedge sandals (I love these!)

Do you like my runway pose? God, I’m a dork.

Below is a close-up of the scarf, which is not entirely successful because I couldn’t get it to focus – the light was too low or something, argh.

Anyway, it has just about every color in my wardrobe except for green, and seems to go with just about everything. I wear this all the time when I need a little warmth or a little oomph. I’m a big fan of scarves. My office is always FREEZING and I always underestimate this.
The scarf really helps.

The Dr. Scholl’s are super comfy. They have a nice wooden wedge and are high enough to go with these slightly longer jeans, but are still totally walkable. I recommend them.

The t-shirt, scarf, and sweater are also work-appropriate (yay for fairly casual offices) and the whole outfit is something I might wear on a casual Friday, as well. I always feel like these jeans are a little on the iffy side even for casual Friday, but I wear them anyway.

Comfy for a day off, but still presentable for meeting a new doctor.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2011 11:37 am

    I own that scarf! & I too love it 🙂

    • May 11, 2011 5:36 pm

      I have seen it on a few people, which is funny b/c I got it at a thrift store! It’s a great scarf.

  2. May 11, 2011 11:58 am

    i love this outfit and i LOVE the scarf. i have a similar one that i bought from a fellow at the portland saturday market for $6. i never used to wear scarves until moving to oregon but i can almost get away with it year round here. good thing i have an inexpensive scarf hook up. 🙂

    • May 11, 2011 5:37 pm

      Scarves are a MUST in Oregon. And yeah, except for the warmish two months in July and August, you can wear them year round! Cheap scarves are the best.

  3. May 11, 2011 12:09 pm

    Scarves are a lifesaver! I have too many of them, actually, but they’re great for adding a little something *and* getting to be a little warmer too. I’d also always wondered about those Dr Scholls sandals (though I am an avid fan of his gel soles and suchlike.) Playing along, I never left the house today between a nasty headache and a deadline, and am comfy in black leggings, a thin chambray shirt dress, and a brown wrap cardigan over. This I would call nothing interesting.

    • May 11, 2011 5:38 pm

      I have, arguably, too many of them too (two tie-racks full!) but I only wear 3-4 on a regular basis. I love them. And, I am a big fan of the non-wooden sole Dr. Scholl’s. These have a nice squishy footbed. I have a pair of flats from them that I wear all the time, too. So comfy and actually cute as well.

      Your outfit sounds like what I *wish* I were wearing.

      • May 12, 2011 2:53 am

        Totally understand the scarf over-purchasing. I always think I should get rid of a few and then remember that I wear them all – if not now, someday. The one I had when we were stuck in Athens was a total wardrobe lifesaver, but I’d never worn it before nor have I since! That’s a shame.

        Will look into the Dr Scholls…

  4. May 11, 2011 1:03 pm

    I wish I had the flair to wear a scarf well. I feel like I’m getting fashion lessons here!

    • May 11, 2011 5:38 pm

      Anyone can wear one. Goes with just a tshirt and jeans, as easily as anything else. Try it!

  5. May 11, 2011 1:55 pm

    Love the scarf!

  6. May 12, 2011 9:05 pm

    I live in jeans. Live in them.

    We just found out that next year we will no longer be allowed to wear jeans to work. A part of my soul died.

    I’m thinking I’ll be rocking the Dickies with Vans look. Skatepunk kindergarten.

    • May 13, 2011 8:22 am

      That is so sad. I try to sneak in jeans at least two days a week. I would like to wear jeans pretty much every day, actually.

Leave a Reply

