Skip to content

Day Five: Black, Gray, Denim

May 13, 2011
tags:

Last day of Fashion Week here at the ol’ blog. I don’t know about you, but I’m about done seeing myself wear pretty much the exact same outfit for an entire week. Still, this works for me at this point in my life and sure makes my life easier.

So what do we have today? It’s Casual Friday so jeans at work is acceptable.

Gray scoop-neck T: the Gap

Gray/black striped drape-front cardigan: Ross

Jeans (same jeans as Monday)

Comfy hippie sandals

So there you have it. A week of neutrals with a splash of teal and a bit of purple. Kind of boring but really, I work in an office where nobody cares about high fashion, and I like to be comfortable, and I get up really early and don’t want to think about clothes that much. And on the weekends, we are pretty much homebodies so fashion doesn’t matter there either. So, whatcha gonna do?

I have to say, these tshirts from the Gap are pretty great. They were inexpensive and are nice and long, and came in good colors. I’m glad I stocked up when they had a good sale a few weeks ago. I had a bunch of older tshirts and decided that it was time to get some decent ones for the summer/fall.

These sandals are really comfortable as well. I do not, as a rule, wear uncomfortable shoes. I try to have them be cute as well, but really, life is too short to wear painful shoes. I generally have one pair at a time of low black sandals which I wear to pieces, all spring, summer and fall. This is the current pair. They’re a little bit Berkeley but I don’t really care. I could walk all day in them and they go with pretty much everything.

After looking at the week’s photos, I can see that I need to wear jewelry a bit more, and I could use a pair of low-heeled shoes (slightly higher than the flats). But other than that, I’m pretty happy with the current system. Pretty much anything I wore could have been mixed and matched with anything else — it’s the Fashion Plate (or, Garanimals) system.

There is a woman in my office who wears Outfits. She has the Red Outfit, the Pink Outfit, the Teal Sparkle Outfit, the Western Wear Outfit, the Easter Week Outfit. I only wish I were kidding. However, that seems to be a similar, related system. You always know that you’ve got something that goes together, even if it is teal and silver sparkles from head to toe. You know, figure out what works for you, and go for it!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2011 6:11 pm

    Love casual Fridays. Actually, I live for casual Fridays. I went all daring this week and wore jeans with a black, white and blue polka-dotted shirt (I hope it actually looked better than it sounds writing it down). Oh my, even my polka-dots are in my black and blue scheme. Scratch the daring part. Those sandals rock.

  2. May 16, 2011 11:02 am

    Love the sandals! I think your week of fashion was perfectly fine, this from someone who hates shopping so much her sister does most of it for her. I have a coworker who pretty much wears the same thing everyday. Same black pants, same blue sweater, same shoes, so when she wears something different we are all pleasantly surprised.

    • May 16, 2011 1:27 pm

      When I lived in Finland, everyone only wore 1-2 outfits per week, max. I kind of loved it.

Leave a Reply

