Skip to content

Mid-May Garden Update

May 15, 2011

The beets are really starting to go. I don’t know what’s going on down under the dirt, but up top, things look pretty good.

Everything else is going pretty well too. We are having a delayed warm season — usually by now it’s pretty warm all the time. But we are still in the 50s on some days (like today), so I think things are taking their time in some cases. In others, they are enjoying the cooler weather (the wee little radishes in the crisper are making me happy, please ignore the sad little baby carrot — just keeping it real:)

The tomatoes in the raised beds are doing great; the ones in Clover Alley (now Dead-Clover Alley) are doing okay but they are a bit behind the times since they don’t get as much sun. I’m hopeful they’ll catch up when the heat comes along. The one zucchini plant is doing great; actually it’s two, and I can’t decide which one to thin. I’m tempted to let them both go. We will die of zucchini overload, I’m sure.

The beans and corn and peas are doing well. The string trellis is up (again — we have destructive little night-beasts here) and one of the pea plants has already found it. The potato farm looks good. I might have to peek under the straw and see how it’s going under there. Right now it’s all theoretical potatoes.

I planted some marigolds for color and also a few nasturtium seeds; they are all starting to do well.

It is so much fun to go out in the evening and check on everybody. I measure the bean growth; I check the tomatoes to see if they need some tying. Everybody gets a good drink of water and lots of well-wishes. I really want our first garden to be a success so we are motivated to do it again next year! I have plans for at least one more bed, but that will probably depend on if we get a dog, how much grass the dog decides it needs. We live close to a dog park so it probably doesn’t matter that much.

anyway. pictures below: enjoy! It’s come a long way from the humble beginnings.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2011 10:57 pm

    Those radishes are worthy of a still life. The color! Good job! My cousins are starting a garden and they’re offering extra tomato plants. Considering…

  2. May 16, 2011 11:08 am

    Go garden, go! Things are looking so green and pretty. We’ve got tulips and a clematis blooing right now and some prarie flowers. It warms my heart even if the weather outside can’t seem to get it together.

    • May 16, 2011 11:35 am

      so pretty! i love clematis. what is up with the weather this year?

  3. May 16, 2011 9:13 pm

    i love how meticulrous you are about tending your garden. im the same way, measuring growth, etc…. when i was in florida i would sometimes spend evenings literally standing by my tomato plants, picking the pesky worms off. it was silly and time consuming, but fun.

    • May 17, 2011 8:17 am

      I totally enjoy it. I’m really having fun. I was supposed to do some other garden things this weekend but it was too cold and rainy. Maybe next weekend…

  4. May 22, 2011 6:58 pm

    Garden love!

    I swear I can smell the earthy goodness from here.

  5. May 22, 2011 6:58 pm

    Garden love!

    I swear I can smell the earthy goodness from here.

Leave a Reply

