Skip to content

treasure from trash

May 19, 2011
tags: , ,

You guys, I found the Best Book Ever for all you crafty types. (actually, it’s for my dear friend Lara, she of the Crate and Barrel jug which arrived last week. Lara is Crafty Queen and surely deserves to own this amazing book.)

Back in the day, Better Homes and Gardens produced some pretty amazing books. I also have a series of hardbound cookbooks from the 50s and 60s which are chock-full of creative ways with hardboiled eggs and horrible “ah-so” delicious Chinese food recipes (usually involving ketchup or canned ham).

This thrifty craft book may beat them all, however. I included a “kit” made from a poorly decoupaged box filled with fabulous treasures including a knee-hi stocking and various bottle tops. I’m sure Lara can make something fab from it.

Please enjoy.

What to do the night after a big party? Make yourself a table!

Or, if you have a nice big box, here’s what you can do after little Johnny and Jenny are done making a playhouse out of it! So Pop Art!

Ever feel like you are sitting under the eternal load of dirty laundry? Now you can LITERALLY sit under the dirty laundry… in quilt form! (I like the pants with zipper still intact best)

Haven’t we all wondered what to do with all the hairspray caps laying around? Problem solved!

I.. um… there are no words. 

Who would have all of these magnificent treasures in their house? Ladies and Gentlemen, may I present to you the Craptastic Six! A family group playing unique handmade instruments!Oh, if only I could have scanned the entire book.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2011 5:28 pm

    Priceless!!!

    Although there’s something a little depressing about a table made of empty beer cans . . . probably the fact that there is no beer in them. I would use full beer cans. Then it could double as a pre-payday-emergency stash.

  2. May 19, 2011 5:31 pm

    Oh, and I love the way it says you can collect the necessary 147 cans “with patience.”

  3. May 20, 2011 4:19 am

    That last picture looks like my version of hell.

    • May 20, 2011 8:22 am

      exactly. the maraca kid in the corner is thinking to himself, “Only 8 more years, and then I’m outta here so fast…”

      • May 22, 2011 7:09 am

        The child-with-guitar’s open mouth says “yawn…” The mother-with-glockenspiel’s open mouth screams “SCREAM!”

  4. May 20, 2011 8:48 am

    Oh my gosh! So very 70s. And so, um, creative. I mean who wouldn’t want that beer can table in their living room?

  5. May 20, 2011 2:13 pm

    I laughed my ass off reading this post…awesome :p

  6. May 21, 2011 7:58 am

    What a RIOT! Too funny.
    I have the old BH&G garden book and the sewing book.

  7. May 21, 2011 11:20 am

    oh this is awesome!

    apparently, as long as you have a piece of plastic, a table can be made from anything. also, when we were replacing the siding of our house back in florida, we found empty beer cans, similar to those above, in the walls. the fact that the workers were drinking while building our house explained a great deal.

    i have to admit it….i *kinda* want the clothing quilt.

    • May 21, 2011 4:33 pm

      I have complete confidence that you could make it. Just be sure to include crazy zig-zap seams and keep all clothes intact. No cutting!!

  8. May 22, 2011 9:19 am

    uh oh. jay just said he wants the beer can table………..

    • May 22, 2011 11:37 am

      I’m sure that with a little effort, he can collect the required amount of cans. 🙂

  9. May 22, 2011 7:02 pm

    Oh, there are not enough words…

    I can see that BH&G is partially responsible for the depletion of the ozone layer with that hairspray cap project.

  10. Lara Starr permalink
    May 27, 2011 6:34 pm

    I can’t even tell you how much I love, love, love this book – and the KIT! Can’t wait to start weaving my panty hose rug! The notes you included were priceless. THANK YOU!

    • May 28, 2011 9:49 am

      It just had your name all over it. I knew you would appreciate its… charms?

Leave a Reply

