Skip to content

Lately

June 1, 2011
  • I have been making a gluten-free version of these muffins. Terri *loves* them and they were a big hit at a family dinner last week. Health food, they are not. However, they are delicious. Deeee-licious. Holy cow they’re yummy.
  • It’s been chilly and gray and generally very Northwest-like here. Normally, this makes me very happy. But now, I’m really ready for it to be warm, and so is the garden. But it seems that it’s too much of an effort for the temps to get anywhere above 63 or so during the day, and we’re back in the 40s at night. And it POURED today, and is currently 61 degrees in what should be the heat of the day. Again, usually you will not hear me complaining, but I’m a little tired of it. Still, by October I will be whining about the heat, so I should enjoy it now. At this point we are pretty much resigned that we are skipping summer around here, so I’ll be surprised when/if it does finally reach 70+. More rain forecast for the weekend.
  • I’ve been sleeping better but for some reason today my head feels like it’s packed in cotton. I cannot wake up. We’ve had too much stress in too short of time; I suppose I’m just still recovering from everything. I could sleep for a week, I think.
  • Thanks for all the nice words about the kitties. We are sad, but it’s getting a little better. Thomas is being a really good boy, though. Mr. Super Snuggle. Yesterday I came home and there he was, all tucked in next to Terri, happy as can be.
  • We are trying *so hard * to resist the lure of the adoptathon. I don’t know if we’ll be successful at avoiding it. KITTENS!!!
  • I have been soooo bad at reading lately. Just too tired, too stressed, too unfocused. I did just request a whole slew of fun-looking books from the library, and a new audiobook (The Little Friend by Donna Tartt — I loved The Secret History by her). I’d like to say it’s because I’m too busy to read, but mostly I’ve been terribly unfocused and kind of wiped out. The sort of wiped out where you find yourself watching an America’s Funniest Home Video from 1995 and the bad hair doesn’t even register. I have, however, been browsing a lot of seed catalogs. I think next year’s garden is going to be much more interesting. There are some awesome plants and veggies out in the world.
  • Speaking of the garden, someone keeps tearing down my string trellis. This is highly annoying. I am going to put it back up ONE more time and then switch to something sturdier (I guess. I don’t know what; I don’t feel like buying wire fencing right now at this point). But why? Why tear down the trellis? If it’s lettuce they want, they can do that without tearing down the string. I think they are just little destructive beasts doing it for fun. Hoodlums. Punks.
  • I keep saying I won’t buy any more herbs because I’m growing a lot from seed. But I ended up getting a lemon balm and pineapple sage for the front porch pots (pretty and useful), and then yesterday I got a lemon thyme, because I couldn’t find seed for it and it is soooo yummy. So be it.
  • And finally, we finally have real dining room chairs. They were cheap and are nothing special, but they aren’t foldable, so hey, we’re getting somewhere. They need a little bit of finishing and then I think they’ll be fine until we decide we want something else. So it took two years to get real chairs, so what?
  • I decided to paint my salvaged chairs shiny apple green, and cover the cushions in outdoor fabric. Then I’ll get a cheap thrifted or garage-sale table, paint that as well, and we’ll have our outdoor cafe set for coffee on the imaginary warm summer mornings which will not be happening anytime soon. I can’t find any other patio furniture that isn’t either horrifically expensive or butt-ugly, so we’ll go with shabby chic until the right thing comes along. I’ll do a before-and-after because I literally found these chairs out for garbage pickup and they are kind of trashed. But I think they’ll be great for shabby chic patio cafe set.
  • We could use some TV suggestions. We like Battlestar Galactica and are working our way through that. We’re going to start watching all the Glee episodes soon. What else? Fringe is on our list too. We like good sci-fi, genuinely funny stuff like Modern Family, etc. We need some distraction that hopefully isn’t too insipid.
18 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2011 8:58 pm

    If you haven’t watched Better Off Ted, you should. It only went two seasons unfortunately, but if you watch the second to last episode of Season Two as the very last episode it works out as a nice ending to the series. It is funny, has some nice romance, and nice sci fi elements with the whole ‘mad scientist’ element of the company. Good fun.

    I’ve heard that Raising Hope is hilarious.

    We are big fans of Community. Lots of good sci fi and pop culture references in that show.

    • June 2, 2011 8:24 am

      Thanks, Carl! I’ll check those out. Thanks for the rec’s.

  2. Lara Starr permalink
    June 1, 2011 9:57 pm

    Sorry, until Mad Men comes back, the only TV I watch is pretty insipid and Bravo-centric…

  3. June 2, 2011 2:50 am

    What do you do with lemon thyme? I see it a lot of places and haven’t taken the plunge.

    TV: J. really likes The Event though I’ve heard it’s been cancelled. How I Met Your Mother is surprisingly funny. Community is awesome. And we’re big geeks around here, but Antiques Roadshow is a must. You can watch it through pbs.org, even overseas!!!

    • June 2, 2011 8:24 am

      Lemon thyme: it’s yummy with sauteed veggies of all sorts, and also good when cooked with rice.

      We’ll have to check out Community! Rec #2!

      • June 2, 2011 11:11 am

        Sauteed veggies…I planted a zucchini this year. Also Jeff likes rice well more than I do, maybe this would help! Thanks for the tips.

    • June 2, 2011 8:26 am

      i also want to know what you do with your lemon thyme. i picked up a plant last year and over the winter it got kinda rough looking but its coming in nicely now and smells so very good. i never know what to do with it though. i think we’ve used it a few times on chicken breasts, but im open to having more options.

      • June 2, 2011 8:28 am

        It’s really good sauteed with zucchini. Yum!

  4. June 2, 2011 4:00 am

    They were just re-hashing old, but really good TV shows on NPR yesterday. It was a step back in time. Now I’m wishing I could watch the whole “Wonder Years” series again, but it’s not on netflix.

    I completely understand about being in a reading funk….This too shall pass!

  5. June 2, 2011 7:22 am

    have you watched 30 rock? hello?? best show ever! other than that, im a crime drama gal, but that might be heavier than what youre looking for.

    also, i have a gluten free question for you. have you ever baked with quinoa? there is a bakery around here that sells peanut butter quinoa cookies and they are the best cookies ive ever had in my life. i’ve tried to make something similar at home but with no luck. any thoughts?

    oh, and i read this post last night but was too tired to comment so i went to bed and had a dream about Bob Saget. I blame you.

    • June 2, 2011 8:27 am

      We haven’t!! But I have heard it’s pretty awesome. Terri loves crime drama. Me, not so much. But she LOVES it. I do enjoy Criminal Minds.

      Hmm. Baked with quinoa. I’m guessing you mean quinoa flour? I haven’t tried it, but I have heard that if you weigh the flour and just use equivalent weights (rather than cup measurements) you can substitute with pretty much anything. Just add a little xanthan gum to be sure. Also, flourless peanut butter cookies are amazing and GF.

      Sorry about the Bob Saget mindworm. That’s horrible.

      • June 2, 2011 9:15 am

        i think the bakery probably used quinoa flour. but the recipe i made the other day used actual cooked quinoa. they werent awful, but kinda weird. (although monty loved them and thought they were BETTER than the bakery ones i was trying to replicate. but he’s odd.)

        i’ve made flourless peanut butter cookies and they are always a hit, but these quinoa ones (from the bakery) were soft and chewy and just perfection. i’ll probably buy some quinoa flour and see if i can find a recipe. if not i may just have to go back to the bakery to get my fix. 🙂

  6. June 2, 2011 8:05 am

    You mean the weather here is better and warmer than yours? We’ve been in the low 70s this week and tomorrow we are going to zoom up into the mid 80s. James and I finished watching BSG and loved it. have you watched Doctor Who? The current series not the one from the 70s. It’s pretty good.

    • June 2, 2011 8:28 am

      Yes! You are having better weather than we are. We’re stuck in permanent early spring.

      I have wondered about Dr. Who (the new series)… haven’t jumped in yet…

  7. June 2, 2011 3:34 pm

    I’ve been evangelizing for Veronica Mars since I heard about it from Jenny of Jenny’s Books and we watched it compulsively early this year. The first season is almost as satisfying as French Breakfast Puffs (my FAVORITE special breakfast as a kid! They were in the old Betty Crocker!)

    Do we get to see the chairs? Or do they need primping first? Apple green sounds lovely.

    • June 2, 2011 4:00 pm

      Chairs need lots of primping, I haven’t done anything with them. They are current in a state generally known as “trashed.” But I’ll take a picture and then do a before/after!

      I heard good things about Veronica Mars. We loved Buffy and I know Veronica was supposed to be the new Buffy (without the vamps). Will check it out.

Leave a Reply

