Skip to content

Garden Update

June 11, 2011

So here we are, at the beginning of June. Temps are still in the mid-60s, with a few (very few) low-70s days. Apparently this is highly unusual for these parts; people are starting to lose their minds a little since it still feels like March around here. However, this has worked out well for my gardening (I hope) since I put spring veggies in late. As you can see the lettuces are doing terrific. This plot also has corn and beans over on the right, and has experimental melon and eggplant on the left. And peas going up the trellis. Oh, and radishes there in the front. I have to pull some of those, a few are getting too big. Scattered throughout are basil, and some cucumbers which I *hope* will be getting big right around the time the lettuces bolt; they’ll take over the middle after all the lettuce is gone. That’s my plan, anyway.

Otherwise, suggestions for what to plant after the lettuce goes?

Here’s the other plot. Three tomatoes (which are doing GREAT even though it’s been so chilly), a bunch of beets which I *think* are starting to be almost ready to harvest, some carrots (which I am sure I need to thin), three peppers, two cucumbers and a bush bean. And some more basil. Oh and some more radishes. I’m wondering if I overcrowded it. I used the Square Foot Garden method to determine how much to plant, but I guess time will tell. Once the beets and carrots are outta there, the cucumbers and beans will have room to spread, so maybe it’s okay.

The potato farm needs investigation. Either it’s time to harvest new potatoes, or the snails got to the plants and they are totally dying. I need to check it out. I also have two more tomatoes in large pots which are trying to catch up to the monsters in the raised beds, and one more cucumber. Because as far as I’m concerned, you can’t have too many cucumbers. I am sure I will eat my words (literally) later this summer. Ever since I moved away from home (and endless cucumbers throughout the summer) I have been craving the endless supply… so I think I overcompensated. Oh well!

And I have a zucchini over in Clover Alley which is doing pretty good. My dad says Clover Alley can be transformed into Raspberry Alley this fall, so I’m excited about that.

What else? We are almost out of oranges. Now we are up to the tippy-top branches. Had to get a fruit-picker. We need to buy another blueberry bush but that might wait until next spring. My herbs are all doing well, especially the mints. Yay!

This summer I need to build another compost bin; I’m going to use free (hopefully) wooden pallets. Lots of straw mulch and later, leaves, to compost. And in the winter, another raised bed. Somewhere. I really think I would like to put one (three, actually) in the front yard. We have to do some planning.

Anyway! That’s how it stands right now. I’m hoping it gets warm soon and everything can just start going crazy, although really in the last two weeks it’s started to get very lush out there. I’m learning so much about gardening.

Here’s the full set of photos. Early Summer, 2011.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2011 4:50 am

    Your gardens look so lovely! I’m going to have the try the square footage thing, I’m always so worried about appropriate spaces and then my gardens look really sparse. I thought I was doing really well this year in planting companion marigolds and basil…but no, still looks sparse. I also know what you mean about the cucumbers. My first garden out in Portland I didn’t know what to plant so put in a surplus of cucumber (from seed!) figuring that most wouldn’t make it; most DID make it and I had cucumbers coming out of my ears. I made pickles for practically my entire department (I have an awesome refrigerator pickle recipe if you have a surplus too!)

  2. June 12, 2011 12:52 pm

    Ooh, would love it. I’m sure I”ll have PLENTY.

  3. June 12, 2011 7:05 pm

    WOW!! Everything looks so wonderful 😀 I absolutely love your garden!!

  4. June 12, 2011 7:08 pm

    everything looks amazing. i love your garden shots.

  5. Lara Starr permalink
    June 12, 2011 7:37 pm

    Your garden is gorgeous!!

  6. June 13, 2011 3:52 am

    I’m having serious garden envy….Even my radishes are not growing and I thought they were fool-proof. Yours looks wonderful.

  7. June 15, 2011 8:55 am

    Your veggies are looking delicious! We were so excited to get the email from our CSA farmer that we will start getting deliveries next week. I love summer and fresh produce!

Leave a Reply

