Skip to content

Book: The Little Princess

June 18, 2011
tags:

 

I can’t even believe how long it took me to read this. Been a little busy, let’s say. But I finally finished it last night. The Secret Garden is one of my favorite books ever, but I’ve never read any other Burnett. What’s up with that?

Anyway. So this was a pretty adorable book. Little miss riches-to-rags-to-riches. Sara is pretty much the most perfect little girl in the world. Smart and self-composed and selfless and generous and creative and imaginative… yep, pretty much she’s perfect. Thankfully she was not annoying, although I have to say that I preferred Sourpuss Mary from The Secret Garden. Just a little more real. But Sara was, let’s say, inspiring. If only we could all be that calm in the face of crisis!

The great villain, Miss Minchin, was pretty awful. Polar opposite of Sara. And the perfect villain. Is everyone in this book perfect? Yes.

I can see how this book would be a favorite of many little girls. Sara is so kind and generous, and the way she deals with hardship is admirable. Also, how fabulous is the transformation of the attic room?

Oh. The plot? Sara Crewe is rich, and goes to a boarding school and is treated like a little princess. Then, her father dies, and she is penniless, and is treated like dirt. Then, her father’s rich friend finds her, and she is rich again. In between, she befriends all the friendless girls, feeds the starving, and is an inspiration and mystery to all. She tries to always act like the little princess — in this case, “little princess” means kind and benevolent to all, with confident bearing. She’s also the master of denial. “Let’s suppose this dark, freezing, dirty, rat-infested attic room is actually a palace. And that we have sooo much to eat, and our ribs aren’t actually sticking out through our clothes. Let’s pretend!”

I guess given the circumstances, I’d want to pretend, too.

I have to say that the first part of the book was a little dull. Reading about a perfect little girl who has everything, is kinda boring. But once she falls from grace, it gets pretty good. I liked it. If I hadn’t been exhausted/distracted for the past two-three weeks, I’d have read it in a night.

Worth reading? Yes. Would be a cozy winter read. I liked it. If you liked The Secret Garden, you’d probably like this. Now, the real question is: do I read Little Lord Fauntleroy? Anyone? Anyone?

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2011 9:03 pm

    hmmmm. i may have to read this one to lucy in a few years.

    (also, you and terri are in my thoughts. if you absolutely feel the need for an addition to your home, i’ll give up Detective Terri Stivers. shes beyond low maintenance. 😉

    • June 19, 2011 11:56 am

      Aw, thanks. Detective Terri Stivers would be a perfect addition. 🙂
      Lucy would probably love this one.

  2. June 19, 2011 9:08 am

    Oh, how funny. I haven’t read this in years and imagine that reading it as a ten-year-old didn’t make me think, “master of denial!”, but how true.

    • June 19, 2011 11:57 am

      That’s my cynical self talking. It was actually pretty charming. 🙂

  3. June 20, 2011 9:15 am

    I read Secret Garden and then immediately read Little Princess when I was in 7th grade I think. My best friend had the books and liked them and then shoved them off on me. I liked this one but enjoyed Secret Garden more. As for Little Lord Fauntleroy, I’ve not read it so can’t help you there.

  4. June 21, 2011 4:09 am

    You touched on one of my most favorite books — “The Secret Garden.” I loved it so much. And there’s nothing like a purely evil villian. I know a few real-life ones (just saying!).

  5. July 6, 2011 2:54 pm

    SIgh, I haven’t read THIS either! on the list…

Leave a Reply

