Skip to content

Yesterday

July 4, 2011

Yesterday was a busy one.

I got up, supervised some kitty-cat introductions (going well, but slow), and then headed over to Lowe’s for some supplies. I was going to finish my privacy-trellis project, 100-degree heat or no.

Felt very manly as I loaded up my rickety dolly thingie with 1x2s, lattice, and nails.

Felt even more manly as I expertly stacked the lumber in through the Corolla window and strapped the lattice to the top of the car.

Felt extremely un-manly as halfway home, the knots came undone and the lattice very nearly fell off the car into the busy road. Only a quick roof-top grab and swerve to the bike lane saved things. A somewhat chastened me restrapped things and drove slowly home.

Made up for this slightly by banging a lot of nails together and making big wooden things. I also included some sweating (as it was 100 degrees out), some swearing, and a mid-project run to the hardware store for a tool. No beer, but I did have a big frosty glass of mint-water.

Got ‘er done.

Our neighbor’s front door and office window look DIRECTLY into our patio, so a privacy screen is a necessity. Since I am not a carpenter and we didn’t feel like funding a brand-new high fence quite yet, I pulled a page from the jerry-rig instruction manual and cobbled this together. A simple frame with lattice nailed to it, which is then nailed to the fence. It ain’t perfect, but it does the job, and it’s fine. The fence will need to be replaced sometime in the distant future so this will be fine until then. We hung a bamboo fence from the trellis for added privacy. And it makes us feel like we are in the tropics. Right?

Since I’d previously haphazardly nailed up half of the trellises, my plan was to take them down and nail them back up to the frames. But I couldn’t get them down — I’d done much too fine a job of nailing them in previously. So. I did half of the job totally ass-backwards, and ended up using a lot of those zip tie thingies, but so what? It’s done.

Now we can finally plant this little bed. Suggestions? It gets bright shade/partial sun most of the day, and we’d also like a lightweight climber, preferably evergreen with summer flowers.

Even if this is a total #carpentryfail, I’m proud of myself. It works, it looks decent (if not professional), and we want it to be mostly covered in a vine anyway, so who cares?

Today I’m rewarding myself with a day full of iced tea, books, ice cream sandwiches and maybe some hammock-swinging. It’s supposed to be near-105 today so this may all take place (with the exception of the hammock) inside the air conditioned house.

Oh, which reminds me. Last night the power went off for about three hours. Thankfully, the sun was starting to go down, and it went back on at around 9:45, but I have to admit I got a little worried. We would have packed up the kitties and gone to stay in an air-conditioned hotel, if it hadn’t gone back on. It did spur me to go stock up on batteries and flashlights, however. So that’s good.

Anyway. Gardening suggestions for this spot welcomed!

 

15 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2011 10:46 am

    yay! go you! it looks great.

    • July 5, 2011 9:28 am

      Thank you! I try hard, with varying results. But I’m happy with it.

  2. Erin permalink
    July 4, 2011 2:01 pm

    Could you make a little herb garden there with creeping thyme and rosemary or something?

    • July 4, 2011 3:27 pm

      Good suggestion… not sure if there’s enough sun? I’ll look…

  3. July 4, 2011 8:38 pm

    It looks so amazing!! You did an awesome job 🙂 And I love Erin’s idea of an herb garden!! They don’t need tons of sun..in fact you can grow most herbs indoors with indirect sunlight. I think a grape vine would be gorgeous on the lattice though 🙂 Oh by the way…when I saw the new pics of the kitty over the weekend, i squealed and showed the pictures to everyone I was with (Matt and Renay) :p He is SO CUTE!!

    • July 5, 2011 9:26 am

      Thanks, Chris! I might have to try some herbs there. A grape vine is a good idea… but I think they go dead in the winter? I need to research.

      So glad you like Finn! Isn’t he cute? He’s such a sweetie.

  4. July 5, 2011 5:58 am

    I love your manly efforts. I usually fail in mine….I think I do things half-assed when I’m completely out of my league. Mission accomplished — you got your privacy!

    • July 5, 2011 9:27 am

      Exactly! Did I know what I was doing? No way? But it’s relatively sturdy, looks fine, will be covered in a vine at some point, and didn’t cost an arm and a leg (although I DID bleed a little, but that’s all in the name of Manly Efforts.)

  5. July 5, 2011 11:09 am

    Sounds like the fence job went just as it should to me. My home projects usually go something like that and if I don’t have to run out for a tool or other additional supply in the middle of the job then something is terribly wrong. Everything here goes dormant in the winter so I am not sure what vines won’t in your area. Honeysuckle? Hops vine? Virgin’s bower? Have fun searching for just the right thing!

    • July 6, 2011 2:50 pm

      Yes, definitely. There must be a period of time in the middle where you realize you don’t have all the right things. We need to go talk to the nursery about a good vine for it.

  6. July 5, 2011 7:24 pm

    I love how you just dive right in. That’s awesome.

    Congrats on the new couch delivery, too.

    • July 6, 2011 2:51 pm

      I try. I hate to leave things half-done. I just can’t leave things. So I guess my solution is to do things as best I can, even if it’s nowhere near “professional.” 🙂

  7. July 6, 2011 2:53 pm

    I recommend Thumbergia (climbing black eyed susans if you can find it – and I may have the name wrong…) It’s an annual and popular which means I always MISS it at the store and that is why it is one of my faves. The flowers are yellow or orange and inside the flute it is black or dark purple so they are just the coolest!

    • July 6, 2011 3:36 pm

      I think we’re looking for a perennial, so that it’s covered year-round. But I love Black Eyed Susan!

  8. trapunto permalink
    July 12, 2011 4:26 pm

    I could just go to every old post I didn’t comment on and write: “awesome!” and “pretty!” I’ll just leave it here for the record.

Leave a Reply

