Skip to content

Today

July 7, 2011

 

Monster Medusa tomato plantsToday looked like this:

  • Slept in (until Thomas woke me up demanding pets and loves)
  • Went shopping; bought an electric weed-whacker, TV trays and new towels
  • Mowed the lawn (still love the push mower)
  • Whacked the weeds (fun! power tools make me smile) (push mower doesn’t get all the tall weeds)
  • Hung up laundry on the line, enjoyed the sun
  • Met dog for possible adoption (almost, not quite — questionable cat-tolerance)
  • Laid around on couch reading (re-read of All Creatures Great and Small)
  • Played with Finn
  • Laughed at silly Thomas
  • Flopped around on couch some more
  • Ate some ice cream sandwiches (yes, more than one)
  • Went out with Terri to library, post office, drugstore
  • Went to park with Terri to take bird photos; saw deer, red-shouldered hawk
  • Watered the garden, enjoyed the warm twilight
  • Took down laundry (smells sooooo good)
  • Ate veggie burgers and potato chips for dinner (marionberry pie for dessert)
  • Laughed some more at silly Thomas (he loves the fresh line-dried laundry)
  • Petted Finn, supervised cat-introductions (ongoing diplomacy)
  • Took a shower
  • Flopped back on couch. More reading.
Vacation is good. I could do this every day. I’m striking a good balance of getting projects done and having long stretches of relaxing. I still want to shampoo the carpet and do some garage-organizing. And paint the patio set. It’s going to cool off this weekend (mid-80s) so I’ll be able to get to those things then. Maybe shampoo carpet tomorrow. Maybe. I’ve never done that. I have no need to do a complete, thorough, wall-to-wall job. I just want to get the high-travel paths clean.

I’m starting to feel better. Sleeping a lot is good. I feel guilty sitting around on the couch so much, but as my friend Sally pointed out, it must be broken in, right? I am so glad we got this couch. It’s incredibly comfortable. I could flop around on it all day. I’m sure I’ll have another few days of just laying around on the giant, soft, purple couch. It’s really pretty perfect.

I’m *so* glad I took two weeks off.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2011 10:30 pm

    I’m glad you took two weeks off too 🙂 Today sounds like it was amazing!!! And I absolutely love your tomato plants XD They look fantastic!

    • July 8, 2011 12:07 pm

      They are huge! I’d forgotten what monsters they can turn into.

  2. July 8, 2011 7:12 am

    Minus a few activities that I don’t like (mowing), it sounds like an amazing time. I haven’t read All Creatures Great and Small, but I am a big fan of the series and have watched it many, many times.

    • July 8, 2011 12:08 pm

      I like the mowing only because I have the quiet push-mower, and a not-huge yard. It’s sort of soothing. The books are so wonderful, very comforting and amusing.

      • July 8, 2011 12:17 pm

        I don’t mind mowing in the spring and autumn, but when summer heat and humidity strikes it loses any bit of romanticism for me and becomes a terrible chore.

        The shows are very comforting and amusing too. There are several episodes that wring a tear from my eye and they always remind me of my own childhood in the country (though not on a farm).

      • July 8, 2011 12:31 pm

        I can totally see that! Thankfully we just have heat (not so much the humidity) here so I just wait until evening to do it. I haven’t watched the shows but I have them on Netflix, just waiting for a cozy day. Maybe today! Since I have nothing better to do. 🙂

  3. July 8, 2011 8:52 am

    What a perfect day! Do not for an instant feel guilty about so much couch flopping! You totally deserve the luxury!

    • July 8, 2011 12:08 pm

      Thank you! I”m back on the couch for another day of hard relaxing!

  4. July 8, 2011 8:44 pm

    yay! this day sounds perfect.

    i really like steam cleaning carpets because even though it can be labor intensive at times, there is definitely a bit of instant gratification because when you’re done: CLEAN CARPETS!

    enjoy your second week of vacation!

    • July 8, 2011 9:04 pm

      I’m kind of excited. I guess I’ll try to do this tomorrow maybe? The carpets aren’t horrible but I’ve wanted to clean them ever since we moved in, so might as well do it now.

Leave a Reply

