Skip to content

california dreamin’

July 16, 2011

Couple of days of quintessential California:

Me and Dad, in Sunol Regional Park. (notice the sweater and scarf? Yes, it’s mid-July in the Tri-Valley. It’s about 20 degrees cooler than usual)

Dad and Yvonne, under the California blue skies and typical golden hills and green oaks. 

And of course, some track and field. The World Master’s competition. You’re looking at the #2 pole-vaulter in the whole world, right here. Up:

…and over! Dad came in second place. Being #2 in the world isn’t so bad, you know, when you’re 65 (or any age, for that matter). I think he made 12′ (they did a poor job of announcing the heights, and I forgot to ask, but I know it was 12′ or close to that).

A nice couple of days out and about, capped with getting to watch my dad do what he does best. So proud!

I am really not sure that words can express how sorry I am that my vacation is almost over. Wah!!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    July 17, 2011 6:36 am

    Nice pix, Daph. I especially like the one of you and your dad. So glad you two got to spend even just a short bit of time together.

  2. July 17, 2011 9:29 am

    go dad!

    and these pics are gorgeous. (as is your new header photo. although i really did love the squirrel one.)

    • July 17, 2011 12:04 pm

      I know, I kept it up there as long as I could, but I thought it needed a summer update.

  3. July 17, 2011 1:04 pm

    Awesome picture, especially the one of you and your dad! And another congratulations to your dad too – how many people can say that they’re #2 in the WORLD in *anything*? Pretty spectacular!

  4. July 17, 2011 1:41 pm

    Congratulations to your dad! That is very cool. Quite the accomplishment regardless of age, but even more of one that he is that committed still. Very inspiring. Glad you had a good time and I share your sorrow that vacation is over. That is always a very melancholy feeling.

    • July 18, 2011 8:56 am

      He’s extremely committed, and has a lot of fun with it. I’m very, very bummed that my vacation is almost over. 😦

  5. D'Arcy permalink
    July 18, 2011 6:57 am

    Like you said, being #2 in the world at ANYTHING is an accomplishment to be proud of, and being able to pole vault at 65 is pretty darn impressive, too. With the genes you got from him and your amazing mom, it’s no wonder you’re pretty cool, too.

    • July 18, 2011 8:57 am

      Aw, thanks. I know my mom paid you to say that, but it’s nice anyway. 🙂

      • Mom permalink
        July 18, 2011 11:34 am

        D’ARCY!!!! You said you wouldn’t tell her!!!

  6. July 18, 2011 9:41 am

    Lovely photos. Congratulations to your dad! If you want warm, come visit me. Our heat index today (like wind chill in winter we have a heat index in summer since humidity makes it feel hotter) is supposed to be somewhere from 105-115. You won’t need that scarf here!

  7. July 18, 2011 3:31 pm

    Woohoo! That’s awesome. Does this pole vaulting thing run in the genes?

    • July 18, 2011 5:16 pm

      It does — my brother was an amazing pole vaulter and went to the Olympic Trials a few years ago. I, sadly, showed no inclination towards it, and besides, when I was in high school, there wasn’t any pole vaulting for girls, so it was a moot point anyway!

  8. July 29, 2011 9:45 am

    This is so cool!

    I love the pic of you and your dad.

Leave a Reply

