Skip to content

Let’s talk about books

July 28, 2011
tags:

OK. Clearly I am utterly besotted with our new fur-family. I love them all SO MUCH that the other day whilst driving around doing errands, I actually started crying because I loved them all so much already.

No, I’m not a bit of a marshmallow-heart, why do you ask?

So I’m just getting that out of the way first. I love Sir Thomas to bits. I adore Finn, the Fluff. I am head over heels for our Chelsea girl.

However, there is more to my life than pets. Honest!

Like, books.

I’m in the midst of a really good pair of books, one paper and one audio.

I’m reading a paperback copy of Game of Thrones (I never buy fiction, so this was a treat to myself over vacation). It’s taking me a really long time to read because by the end of the day, I’m exhausted (see above: three new-ish critters). But what a fun book. It’s a little silly at times — I’ve totally been expecting Lord of the Rings seriousness, but then sometimes there’s this really goofy scene or comment from a character, which always throws me. So it doesn’t take itself too seriously (I guess? or maybe it’s just a goofy book?). But I’m enjoying it completely. Oh, the direwolves! I don’t want anything bad to happen to them but of course we know because it’s an animal in a book, bad things happen. Why? It’s like the unicorn. Anytime you see a unicorn in a book, kiss it goodbye. It’s just a matter of time.

I’m listening to The Hunger Games on audio. Yes, completely hooked from the get-go. I’m trying not to let my annoyance at the narrator get in my way of enjoying the book. I really, really don’t like the narrator. Really. But I love the book. So freaking good. I have figured out that I have to get really compelling audiobooks for my commute, because otherwise I lose interest and don’t listen to them, and then I spend hours listening to Stuff You Should Know or whatever iTunes throws at me. But I really want to be using my commute time for books. So. Back to getting really great books on audio. Thank goodness this is a trilogy!

I haven’t done a bookcount lately but I’m sure I’m behind on my goal. I should be at around 40 books by now and I’m sure I’m nowhere near that. Not like it matters — it really doesn’t — but I have this inner fear that I will never read all the books I want to read. Which of course is true. I’ll never read all the books I want to. But I’d like to make a dent. So — back to the audio. That doubles my book intake. 🙂

I have a few books in my TBR piles but I’m definitely going to tear through the Hunger Games trilogy. I might take the Fire and Ice books a little slower. I bet they are good to read over the winter. And then I should make a list of what I want to read the rest of the year. Because it’s getting to be RIP time. I sense a deluge of YA horror coming my way. I’m in the mood to read a ton of it this year.

So that’s the state of the book-reading around here. Pure indulgence. Why else to read?

 

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2011 7:11 pm

    You must not be too terribly far into A Game of Thrones? It is a good book, but dark. Martin isn’t afraid to allow his characters to do very bad things to one another. Very bad.

    • July 29, 2011 5:52 am

      I’m about halfway through the first book… yes, I can see that it can get very dark! I can’t wait.

  2. July 28, 2011 10:46 pm

    Haha…you have the fear of never reading all of the books that you want to, too? :p Glad to hear you’re reading Game of Thrones!! God I love that series…but prepare to have your world rocked…like Carl said, he DOES THINGS!

  3. D'Arcy permalink
    July 29, 2011 7:05 am

    I’m about halfway through Dance of Death, and had the foresight to borrow the next book in the series from the library at the same time. I agree – there’s no point in reading if it’s not enjoyable – it should be indulgence!

    • July 29, 2011 9:23 am

      Oh, I’m so glad you are on that part of the series! Good job getting the next one, you’ll want to go right into it!

  4. July 29, 2011 5:16 pm

    I’m with you on the Hunger Games’ narrator. I thought she could have made better decisions with the accents, among other things. And that dramatic throb she puts in Katniss’ voice gets worse and worse in the later books! It was a toss up for me, because I really love hearing a good book read aloud to me cause it stretches out the pleasure, but at the same time it can compromise the pleasure of good writing to hear it read awkwardly. In the end I went for the stretched-out pleasure and listened to them all on CDs, though. It must be hard for you to have to stop the audio when you get to work. The plot is one tense moment after another!

    • July 30, 2011 9:27 am

      Totally, and sometimes she gave sentences completely wrong inflections — I was thinking to myself, “I think they meant that a different way” and then she’d catch herself midway through. Also she read so slow and ponderously. Still, I love the story. Oh no, Katniss’ voice gets worse? how is that even possible? Oh well.

      Sometimes I sit in my car an extra five minutes to finish a chapter because I can’t stand stopping it!

  5. August 1, 2011 7:24 am

    Yay for furry love! Yay for Game of Thrones! You are cranking through the books this year Daph.

    • August 1, 2011 11:24 am

      I’m trying. Not sure why, but I am trying. 🙂

Leave a Reply

