Skip to content

lazy sunday

July 31, 2011
tags:

But not too lazy. This morning we got up early and Chelsea and I went over to Oakland to do some errands and petsitting. After being such a good girl, and since we were going right by the lake, she was rewarded with a little walk by the lakeside (Lake Merritt, which is right in the middle of Oakland, FYI). Lots of birds and people and dogs to say hello to, plus both brown and white pelicans (my favorite sea bird).

I have to say it’s much more fun to go walking now that we have a dog. Trying to figure out the right amount of exercise for her, that I can do every day. We went to Terri’s sisters’ houses (both sisters, both houses) last week and she had so much fun, especially at the house that has a pool. I don’t know how much swimming she’s done in the past, but she loved it. She was totally worn out (swimming plus trying to keep up with a VERY active young Lab). So I know I can’t give her that level of exercise every day, but I’m thinking a 2-mile walk after work would be pretty good for both of us, and then lots of outings on the weekends. She gets training and naps with Terri during the day, plus a short walk. So, a good balance.

I’ve been thinking I needed to get exercising again, and now I have no choice! Actually, that’s one of the reasons I wanted to get a dog — a good excuse to get out and get moving again.

But she’s all worn out now, sleeping on the floor. We will have a nice day watching movies and resting, and then maybe a trip to the dog park or our favorite Sycamore Grove park, later in the day. We’ll let Finn out today too, and see how he does with her (Thomas the pesky chaser will be in the bedroom until these two get friendly, then we’ll try them all together.)

Oh. I had just gotten to a very exciting part in The Hunger Games audio yesterday, when I discovered that the audiobook I had downloaded was ONLY THE FIRST PART. And I don’t have the second part. ARGH! So now I have to wait until my request at the library comes in. I don’t feel like buying the audiobook or the paper books, but we’ll just have to see how long I can hold out. Which means I’m currently without an audiobook. So maybe a trip to the library today as well.

One other dog-related note: we are really enjoying watching It’s Me Or The Dog, on Animal Planet. Loving the positive reinforcement model. It really works for us and how we are, and Chelsea is responding very well (she is HIGHLY treat-motivated). It helps my dog-anxiety to know that we can work on any behavior issue that comes up, and thankfully she is a very good dog (so far).

That’s it from the couch. Wishing I had some really delicious coffeecake. Why oh why don’t I have a personal chef?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2011 9:14 pm

    monty LOVES its me or the dog. it is a good show.

    also, i love how having a dog is like having a built in gym. they NEED to exercise. and you have to provide it. and really, its a labor of love.

    • July 31, 2011 9:44 pm

      Totally. I’ve been having so much fun on the walks. Two miles goes by like nothing!

  2. August 1, 2011 2:37 am

    I love It’s Me or the Dog too! (Although the new season w its focus on rich NYC-ers isn’t appealing to me.) And Thistle is all abotu positive reinforcement and treats, lol. I was sick last week, but I shall get that toy in the mail this week for sure!

    • August 1, 2011 11:22 am

      No rush! Thank you for even thinking of it! Oh — I looked, and the Kongs we have are medium. Shoot!

  3. August 1, 2011 7:28 am

    Walks with a dog are great fun. James and I don’t go for half as many walks as we used to when our dog was still alive. It is a great way to meet your neighbors. A personal chef is a great thing to have. Not that James is my personal chef, but he comes pretty darn close. Since Chelsea seems to be so good at housework maybe you could train her to cook too 😉

    • August 1, 2011 11:23 am

      I think she would look very cute in an apron, but I think she’d eat all the ingredients before they made it into the dish she was preparing.

  4. August 3, 2011 4:46 am

    My poor dogs do not get the walks they deserve. I sent them today to Doggie Daycare where they can romp and swim and chase and wrestle all day long. Esther still pulls and I hate it so – walks are not fun and thus I need to do it more. (bad parent) So hard with 2 strong big dogs to go anywhere.

    Your pup is adorable.

    • August 3, 2011 8:58 am

      That sounds like fun — I may have to take Chelsea to her cousin’s house for some swimming and romping soon. She had such a good time.

      Pulling is no fun at all. Chelsea rarely pulls but when she does I am careful to immediately stop and not go again until the leash is slack. That seems to be helping.

Leave a Reply

