Skip to content

…or, not

August 4, 2011
tags:

Start by never letting your dog on the bed.

Keep your dog alert and waiting for your signal, at any moment.

They should be sitting next to you, calm and collected, looking to you for guidance.

(PS: the book said none of this, thank goodness!)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2011 7:30 pm

    oh my i have so much blog (and email!) catching up to do but i need to say how much i LOVE this picture. liz lemon sleeps between me and jay, usually laying just like that except her head is on a pillow. spoiled spoiled pets. ( but i wouldnt have it any other way.)

  2. August 4, 2011 7:58 pm

    exactly. why else have them?

  3. August 5, 2011 5:08 am

    LOL! I actually trained my pup to wait for me to say OK when she is allowed onto the bed. Cracks me up that she really learned it.

    NOW, can you tell me how I can get her to stop being excited & peeing all over the floor when we come home? Grrrrr.

    • August 5, 2011 7:56 am

      We’re doing that with Chelsea too. Although she does “help herself” also. Thankfully she doesn’t seem to be up on the bed all the time, maybe just once a night for a half-hour or so.

      Poor excited puppy pee!! That’s probably a hard one!

  4. August 5, 2011 9:30 am

    Oh how the photo made me laugh! Just wait until winter when it’s cold and she will want to be on the bed and and so will the cats and you and Terri will be thinking you need to get a bigger bed 🙂

  5. August 6, 2011 1:57 am

    Heehee! Thistle knows she’s allowed up on any furniture in my room whenever she wants (my bed, my big chair, or her bed which is a pillow on top of a sewing chest under the window), but in any other room she has to ask permission first. In fact, she’s only allowed on the living room couches if I put a blanket down first (this is a huge change, since my mom’s naturally a pets-belong-on-the-floor woman, and it’s her house, so I can’t blame her!), so she gets really excited if she sees me pulling the blanket out. lol And she knows ‘off,’ so if I really need her to get down from somewhere, I can tell her to! We mainly only use it during training/treat sessions though. 😉

    (P.S.: Sorry I haven’t gotten that toy in the mail yet! I’m trying a new fibro med, and it’s making my whole life a bit wonky, so I haven’t been driving much. But I’ll find a post office so I can get it out!)

  6. August 12, 2011 7:09 pm

    I love this picture. It’s perfect.

Leave a Reply

