Skip to content

some days

August 23, 2011
  • I want to quit my office job and go work at a bakery. Or, preferably, a cheese shop. Or something similarly simple and product-0riented. (please note: I love my job and my company. I just really hate working in an office. Even a nice office.)
  • The self-imposed To-Do list feels way too overwhelming.
  • The accompanying guilt, of knowing I’m not doing The List, is also overwhelming.
  • I am sure I am not “living up to my full potential.” And frankly, well, too bad.
  • I realize we’ve had gardenburgers for dinner (with BBQ sauce and avocadoes) 9 out of the past 10 nights. (could be worse)
  • I remember that I have, on occasion, a temper, a short fuse, and a smart mouth. (best to keep these out of sight at work)
  • Home and garden magazines seem designed to point out how very unskilled and inexperienced I am with home-fixing, gardening, cooking. I have decided that Sunset Magazine is too ritzy for me.
  • My own bad attitude shocks me.
  • My faults seem to loom much larger than any so-called gifts.
One of those days. In progress. Everything is fine, except me. (but seriously, the Northern CA version of Sunset is so snooty lately. It’s beautiful but so yuppified that I can’t find anything in it I relate to, not even recipes. Sunset, are you listening? Bring back hippie DIY cheap goodness, please!)
6 Comments leave one →
  1. tammie permalink
    August 23, 2011 3:36 pm

    i love this post and i may have to, a some point, steal this idea from you.

    i had to chuckle at your first one because that is sort of what im doing right now (working in a small, product oriented environment) and although i love it and its very low stress and fun, i, on some days, wish i was in an office and in a job of more…….importance maybe?

    • August 23, 2011 7:22 pm

      Well, there is that. I guess it’s a grass-is-greener sort of thing. Right now, doing something fairly quick-turnaround sounds perfect. “You want this toy? You got it.” Transaction done. Year-long projects are making my brains melt.

  2. August 24, 2011 4:00 am

    I’m just going to cut and paste this entry — it pretty much sums up my attitude toward life lately. Thanks for making me feel less alone!

    • August 24, 2011 8:01 am

      Excellent. Glad to be of service (and glad to be not alone, either!)

  3. August 24, 2011 9:10 am

    One of the first things to do then is to toss out the to-do list! I gave up on home and gardening magazines ages ago. The houses never looked like real people lived in them and the gardens, even the supposedly small ones, were rarely smaller than half an acre. Hope things are improving!

    • August 24, 2011 1:02 pm

      Very good advice all around! I am enjoying Better Homes and Gardens, mostly because things seem a bit more reasonable there. But I think I’ll let Sunset lapse.

Leave a Reply

