Skip to content

a new book-review policy, plus goals

August 24, 2011

When I first started writing about books on my blog, my policy was “review every book I read.”

Well, that’s not really practical, nor interesting. I read lots of books, and not all of them are review-worthy. The latest Dan Simmons? Yes. A dog-training book? Probably not. Also, increasingly: so-so sequels, quirky one-offs that aren’t really that interesting but killed a few hours, childhood re-reads (who really needs a review of The House At Pooh Corner?)

So, what I may be doing is listing the books on my book-count page and sometimes mentioning them. If it’s a series, I may lump some of them together in one review. If it’s a bad series, I might just mention it in passing, in case anyone was wondering, but I won’t waste an entire post on it.

For instance, my last audiobook: Forever Odd. The second in the Odd Thomas series. I finished it last night on the way home. I enjoyed it, but it wasn’t anything groundbreaking. Mostly I just liked the character and wanted to hear more. The plot itself wasn’t that great. I’m currently listening to the third, Brother Odd, which I’m enjoying more. So maybe I’ll lump the two together. I go on sprees of reading lots of things by the same author, or great streaks of sequel-reading. Not always the best for book reviewing, although I like to make a note of it.

And I like to keep track of some of the non-fiction I read, which don’t necessarily merit a review. The Other End Of The Leash was really interesting, although I have no idea how I’d review it.

So. I know ya’ll really needed to know that.

Anyway. I have some autumn goals I need to write down somewhere. The ol’ blog is as good a place as any.

  • Replant the sidewalk planter (the strip next to the street). We are thinking low-water. Lavender. Something native. Stuff like that.
  • I want to work with Sculpey again. I loved making the mushroom trophies. I’d like to make some Halloween statues. I have a whole art room (now Finn’s room) and I want to play in there some more. I have one project I need to finish and then I can play with clay.
  • Make a leaf-compost bin. Of some kind. I’m thinking free wooden pallets, tied at the corners, making a ‘box’ for leaves.
  • Plant lettuce, fall veggies. ASAP. I’d like to make one more raised bed but I don’t know if I will get to it in time.
  • Make my RIP list and start requesting books from the library. Yay! RIP! When does it start again? September?
I think that’s enough for now. I have some other things on my mind but these are the things I’d like to get done by, say, end of October.
12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2011 8:14 pm

    RIP VI, September 1st. Announcement SOON!!! 😉

  2. Mom permalink
    August 25, 2011 7:29 am

    What about native grasses mixed in with the lavender? Very low maintenance and water, and so, so pretty. We can look in November!!

  3. August 25, 2011 11:17 am

    I like your autumn goals. I’m looking forward to RIP too. Have begun thinking what I might want to read. Compost bins are awesome. We got a big plastic one from the city several years ago for something like $30 and they gave us a kitchen scrap bucket for free. Maybe your city does something similar?

  4. August 25, 2011 1:15 pm

    Yes, I have a medium-sized plastic one that I got for free, and a small one for kitchen scraps, but I need an additional one for leaves… The plastic one doesn’t stay together very well, so I’d like something sturdier.

    Looking forward to your RIP list!

  5. August 27, 2011 10:23 pm

    i like your book review policy. ive changed mine a bit too and its very similar to yours. i like the idea of reviewing every book, but a lot of what i’ve been reading just isnt review-worthy. lately im drawn to somewhat mindless fiction (although this has been basically in an attempt to find NON mindless fiction) and when i go to review it i just find myself with nothing to say. its really hard to review a book that is just so-so. so now i just review ones i either love or hate. i think that strong feelings either way tend to translate into a good review thats fun to read.

    • August 28, 2011 8:30 pm

      Totally. I looked at some utter crap at the library today and was tempted, but then thought “oh, but I”d have to review it.” then even the thought that it would be on my list was enough to dissuade me. 🙂

  6. August 28, 2011 2:54 am

    I’m glad you enjoyed The Other End Of The Leash, even if you don’t want to blog about it! 🙂 I try to write at least a sentence on Sunday about all of my reads, just so that I can remember them in the future. hehe But it’s usually pretty easy for me to decide which books I should give a full post to!

    • August 28, 2011 8:31 pm

      That’s a good policy too. I think I”ll stick to the big list, and try to at least mention what I’m reading. I’ll still probably also write reviews for most books since I like most everything I read.

  7. August 28, 2011 12:17 pm

    Woo-hoo RIP!!! I was just about to ask you about it! I have two books waiting for me at the library that I really want to read, plus a couple on my TBR hill (does not qualify for a mountain, even in England).

    Also, I started out with the same blogging policy, i.e., review every book I read. It did not last long, and discovering Goodreads helped out with just keeping track of what I’m reading. To be honest, sometimes there are books about which I have absolutely no words, so why would I want to try to make up crap to have other people read? So I think you’re on the right track here 🙂

    • August 28, 2011 8:31 pm

      Oh, I can’t wait to see you list. I think I am actually going to MAKE a list this year. Last year was too haphazard although I really did enjoy the few that I read.

Leave a Reply

