Skip to content

Book(s): Forever Odd and Brother Odd

August 29, 2011
tags:

So, if you’re going to read the Odd Thomas books, here is what I would do. Read the first, Odd Thomas. It’s a pretty great supernatural thriller, almost lighthearted. Heartwarming, even.

Skip Forever Odd. For now. It’s not that great, although I enjoyed it. But you could skip it.

But read Brother Odd. I really liked this book. Like Odd Thomas, it’s almost heartwarming. There are a few parts where I teared up, because it was that particular blend of sweet and tragic that always gets me.

Odd Thomas, having gone through quite a lot in his 21 years, needs to simplify. Like, really simplify. It’s not easy being contacted by the dead, and then having to do something about it. He’s gotten into quite a few pickles and is tired. Not to mention, also heartbroken. So he does what any warm-blooded American male would do in a situation like this: goes on an extended stay at a monastery in the Sierra mountains. Right? Well, if that’s not what most guys would do, then it just illustrates that Odd Thomas is not like most guys. Aside from the fact that he’s got a pretty sharp sixth sense, he’s also incredibly sweet and a real gentleman.

I like him.

So while at the monastery, Odd starts to get signs that something bad is coming. The children at the school there are in danger. Strange mechanical monsters are stalking the children… but is there something even worse coming? Odd must race to find out.

So, I liked this book a lot. The story was good, the bad-guy(s?) chilling, and Odd Thomas as charming as ever. I loved the sweet touches throughout the story, and I really hated to turn off the recording.

Which brings me to my second point: the guy reading these did a great job. I think that was half the reason why I liked these books so much. He captures the tone of each character perfectly.

So read the first and the third, and then if you want more, read the second book. And hey, RIP is coming — if you want something not-too-scary and kind of fun, give Odd Thomas a try.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2011 10:31 am

    It was weird, I had such a hard time with this book. I read it a couple of years ago for RIP, and it was one I didn’t enjoy as much. I wanted to, I really liked the premise, but something about it felt a little – off? removed? I still can’t quite figure it out. I’m glad you enjoyed it though! A lot of people do. Which is good! 🙂

  2. September 14, 2011 11:37 am

    I liked Brother Odd but I didn’t love Forever Odd. I did enjoy the first one, though. But I can see how one might not.

Leave a Reply

