Skip to content

The Most Wonderful Time of the Year: R.I.P.

September 2, 2011
tags: ,

Happy Dance!
(I saw this on DesLily’s blog and it cracked me up)
Oh thank god, it’s that time of the year again:

Truly my very favorite time of the year, for so many reasons, not least of which is Carl’s fabulous reading challenge, R.I.P. (an aside: WordPress likes to underline “favorite” — I’m spelling it correctly, aren’t I?This makes me paranoid.)

This year I will be participating in Peril the First:

“Read four books, any length, that you feel fit (my very broad definitions) of R.I.P. literature. It could be Stephen King or Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Ian Fleming or Edgar Allan Poe…or anyone in between.” No problem.

And also, Peril on the Screen:

“This Peril was added last year and proved to be popular, and so it returns. This is for those of us that like to watch suitably scary, eerie, mysterious gothic fare during this time of year. It may be something on the small screen or large. It might be a television show, like Dark Shadows, or your favorite film. If you are so inclined, please post links to any R.I.P.-related viewing you do on to the book review site as well.”

And now, my R.I.P list! My goal this year? The kind of creeping horror I used to get reading old Stephen King, when I had to put the book in the other room when I wasn’t reading it, when I couldn’t stop reading it until 4 in the morning.  Kind of leaning towards horror, but I’ve thrown in a few creepy gothics as well. And you have to do some YA for RIP — I maintain that some of the creepiest books I’ve ever read were YA books.

So far my wish list includes (and it’s a huge list… maybe I’ll keep reading into November):

I will also be watching some scary movies. Here are some that are on the Netflix queue!
  • The Orphanage
  • The Changeling
  • The Uninvited
  • The Entity
  • The Innocents
  • The Birds
  • (are you seeing a trend here?)
  • Fright Night
  • Stir of Echoes
  • Chronos
I’ll be happy if we watch three or four of those. Any other suggestions? I am not a fan of gore, but I love creepy, spooky movies. I am usually disappointed. My favorite of recent years was The Others.
Anyway — happy RIP reading, everyone! And thanks again to Carl for organizing this! We all love it so much.
26 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2011 8:49 am

    Now I’m going to have that song in my head all day and be thinking Christmas thoughts.

    Hey, that isn’t a bad thing as it is supposed to be up to 101 degrees today.

    Its my favorite time of year too, or it will be when the weather truly turns to autumn. Glad you are equally excited about the time of year and about R.I.P.

    Great book there. Uncle Montague is fantastic. One of my favorites out of all the books I’ve read for the challenge these past 5 years. I enjoyed the other two books as well (not a series, just a running theme) but this is the best of them all.

    • September 2, 2011 9:45 am

      I will definitely look up Uncle Montague — it looks like a lot of fun.

  2. D'Arcy permalink
    September 2, 2011 8:59 am

    Ha! I love it! No, you’re not spelling favorite correctly – it’s favourite.

    And, well, I may have mentioned this before, but the movie of The Dead Zone was filmed near Peterborough. You can picture Peterborough as you’re reading. I know I read The Tommyknockers (I think it was even in Finland) but I can’t remember if I liked it or not. That’s probably not a good sign.

    • September 2, 2011 9:44 am

      D’Arcy — duh, of course!! Maybe WordPress is spelling-challenged like you Northerners. Although it is underlining “WordPress” as well, so I think it’s just confused.

      I don’t think you read Tommyknockers because I would have read it also, and I know I haven’t. We did read Needful Things and we did not like it. 🙂

  3. September 2, 2011 9:02 am

    Hmmm….I don’t have that problem with WordPress and “favorite”.

    • September 2, 2011 9:44 am

      It seems I have a problem with both “wordpress” AND “favorite”. Bizarre.

      • D'Arcy permalink
        September 2, 2011 4:57 pm

        I infiltrated your computer in my quest to turn you Canadian BWAH HA HA HA!

      • September 2, 2011 8:35 pm

        You are a big silly. How is that spelled in Canadian? Siluy. Siully? Favourite. Also: they underline your silly Canuck spelling too, so there.

  4. September 3, 2011 3:55 am

    well you should watch some old OLD black and white movies like Rebecca or Dracula those are always good and the black and white adds to the creepyness!

    aww, hell LOL I hadn’t heard of the dan simmons book and I love, love, love Drood..and you are right they are always huge! LOL…heck the title alone (Carrion Comfort) gives me the creeps! lol (ah well another one hits the wish list!)
    I will be reading Peculiar Children also… many people are. I think books become very popular when Carl runs his challenges! lol

    • September 3, 2011 10:15 am

      Carl is the Oprah of the RIP book-blogging world. 🙂

      • September 3, 2011 10:51 am

        Oh Lord! Someone called me a hippie early this week and now Oprah! That combination scares me more than any book I’ll read during the R.I.P. Challenge. 🙂

    • September 3, 2011 1:07 pm

      Rebecca is incredible! Hitchcock? And Olivier bullying poor Joan Fontaine for an hour and a half? Classic.

  5. September 3, 2011 1:02 pm

    “Oh thank god, it’s that time of the year again” – sing it, sister!

    I love your list! Of course there’s a lot of crossover 🙂 I just finished the Sokoloff a couple of nights ago, and want to read an old school King novel as well (although I think Insomnia has come highly recommended…) Also American Psycho is one of the few books I have ever had to consciously put down and stop reading. It gave me nightmares. I left it in a hotel room in Wiesbaden, Germany (and strange how I’ll always remember exactly that.)

    I can’t wait to hear about Carrion Comfort! Have you read The Terror (or were you the one who turned me on to it?)

    Also, The Orphanage? Nice and creepy, very The Others-style.

    You’re right – this is the best time of the year for reading for me. Thank you Carl!!!

    • September 4, 2011 1:46 pm

      I think I did tell you about The Terror — one of my all-time favorites. I now have to begin gathering up all these lovely books… How was the Sokoloff? I must see if you have posted a review.

      • September 5, 2011 10:58 am

        Ah, we’ve both now read The Terror in my household and loved it, so thanks from both of us.

        I’m hoping to write a review of the Sokoloff tonight. As a teaser, it was better than her first (which I didn’t care for.)

  6. September 3, 2011 9:17 pm

    OMG You have to promise you’ll read A Fine and Private Place!!!!! It’s one of my favorite books ever 😀 And Uncle Montague’s Tales of Terror is truly fantastic too 😀 So glad you’re joining in and that you have some deliciously creepy movies to watch too 😀 Have you seen Pan’s Labyrinth? If not, I highly recommend it!!

    • September 4, 2011 1:47 pm

      I promise! I have seen Pan’s Labyrinth and would totally watch it again except that the ending just KILLED me and I’m not sure I’m up for that again.

  7. September 4, 2011 12:24 pm

    i love this time of year for you. it seems to put you in such a good, fun mood.

    blogger always says i misspell ‘internet.’ they want me to capitalize it. i refuse to.

    • September 4, 2011 1:48 pm

      I do love it. I don’t participate as much as I’d like but I love all things creepy so it’s a good time for me. The internets are a silly place when it comes to spelling, it seems.

  8. September 6, 2011 9:13 am

    House of Leaves is supposed to be creepy? I had no idea! I had already planned on reading in October for the Wolves. Guess I’m going to get a two-for! I read Amityville Horror when I was 14 or so in the days before horror gave me nightmares. Scared the pants off me!

    • September 6, 2011 11:37 am

      Did you read it? I’ve heard mixed reviews on it. It depends on if my library has a copy… I can’t wait to read The Amityville book. I don’t think I’ve read it. there are a few classic horror books from the 70s that I missed, which I totally want to read.

      • September 7, 2011 9:14 am

        have not yet read House of Leaves. I will be reading it in October. Maybe we will both end up reading it? 🙂

  9. September 10, 2011 6:19 am

    Hi Daphne! Pan Labyrinth – I’m glad the ending did the same for you. I can’t watch the movie again because it’s too close to a lot of themes in my own life! I think I cried all the way through it. Maybe we could do a cross-post for Uncle Montague’s Tales of Terror, for fun, for the challenge? since I’m reading it too for the first time.

    Let’s see: I just refound the book of ghost stories from MR James upstairs, so am thinking it will find it’s way onto my humungous RIP pile – what’s another book, right? lol I hope you can find The Manitou, our library definitely has it (it’s been out for a while). I have A Fine and Private Place too, we could do a Q&A together on this one instead. I think it would be fun. 😀

    Go for The Unseen! And from what I can remember, Carrion Comfort. That might be the one I couldn’t finish while I was pregnant with my first child years ago because it gave me nightmares. Pat keeps pushing for Drood, which I have in huge hardcover, so it’s a toss-up between that and Swan Song by him for me.

    oh, there are so many good ghost stories and horror novels out there, aren’t there? I love this time too! Have fun reading, and for making my day by saying Carl is the Oprah of this challenge – *hugs*

    • September 14, 2011 11:35 am

      I know — I really would love to see it again but I can’t take that ending. Maybe I’ll just watch my favorite parts. To me, that movie was more heartrending than horrifying.

      Would love to do a cross-post of Uncle Montague, if I can find the book! And A Fine and Private Place.

      Oh, read Drood! It was soooooooooooooo good.

  10. September 10, 2011 6:47 am

    I love Pan’s Labyrinth. It is a show I pull out every so often and watch again. It is one of those interesting shows where you can kind of decide what you want about the ending, whether the denouement, after the sad end, is just a further part of her imagination as she slips away or whether all the fairy stuff was real all along. I’m the kind of person who likes to believe that she was really that lost princess and she went home. So while the end is shocking it is actually a reunion when all is said and done.

    • September 14, 2011 11:36 am

      That’s a good way of looking at it. I just cried too much to want to watch the ending again. But I loved, loved, loved the rest of it.

Leave a Reply

