Skip to content

Front Yard Update (what I did today)

September 5, 2011
tags:

It’s Labor Day, and in honor of such, I labored all day on the front yard. Since we moved in almost a year ago, we haven’t done much with the front. Mom and I ripped up the ice plant in the front walk planters and put in some petunias, but at this point in the summer, they were looking pretty scraggly and awful. So it was time for them to go.

Instead, we now have a few varieties of lavender and fountain grass, which I think looks very nice and more modern, especially with black mulch. Buddy thinks so too. Please ignore the weeds in the street. “Front yard” does not include “street and driveway” in my book. Anyway — these are all little right now but I do hope they grow and fill up the space.

Then I worked on the horrible ugly junipers. They are so awful. We are going to have six of them torn out. In the meantime, I went at it with the hedge trimmer to try and make them look like someone cares. Um, I am not very good with the hedge trimmers. Check out the top of the hedge. Niiiice and level. Home haircuts for hedges! The other ones turned out a little better. It was very hard to trim these. The electric hedge trimmer is heavy and I had to get up on the ladder and stretch out (I tried to be safe…). I will be glad when they are gone. I have no idea what we will put in instead. I would like a Japanese maple, for sure. And then a bunch of low-water natives. We also want most of the lawn gone. Who knows. 

After all this, Chelsea and I headed to the dog park for some running around. Her, not me. I’m pooped. 

Always fun to make new friends.
And now I am wiped out. I really hate those junipers. Three of them are the feathery kind; they aren’t so bad. The other three are the prickly, spiny kind. I stepped on part of a trimming with my bare foot and it was like stepping on a porcupine. I hate them. I think we’ll keep the ones in front of the garage; they’re manageable. The others: your time is limited. Hate.

I have been slacking on yardwork lately and now I have to get on top of things. There is much pruning and weeding and mulching and so forth to do. Much. I need to start lifting weights; I hate not being strong enough to do these things easily. Today I considered buying the 3-cubic-meter package of compost but I just get so sick of lifting heavy things so I got three of the smaller bags instead. Oh well. My back was super tired already from all the trimming and raking and digging and stretching. It’s a fine balance between pushing yourself a little and taking care of yourself enough so that you can push a little further next time.

I am feeling slightly overwhelmed by all the projects in my life but I think it’s because I’m REALLY tired tonight. So, I’m off to read some Charles de Lint and relax. Ice cream might happen. I’m just sayin’.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2011 9:29 am

    Your boulevard looks lovely! I hate junipers too. We had two in our front yard and ugh were they ever hard to get out! I have so much yardwork to do too. We’ve been so busy indoors preparing to have the floors done that the outdoors has been quite neglected.

    • September 6, 2011 11:34 am

      They’re horrible! I was thinking of just cutting them down, but three of them I can’t do myself, and if we’re having three pulled out by someone else, they might as well do the other three too. I’m excited to see your new floors. It sounds like a lot of work. I hope we can get floors in, in a couple of years.

  2. September 6, 2011 7:38 pm

    I to hate junipers. I don’t have a yard to worry about but if I did they would be gone. Oh and I love love love deLint.

  3. Mom permalink
    September 8, 2011 7:36 am

    Did you and I discuss grasses and low water plants for the front? JUST what I was thinking would look nice. Good job, Girl!!! I like what you did.

  4. September 9, 2011 10:20 am

    The only thing I like about junipers are the berries used to make gin! Other than that, they are just sort of…blah. I was catching up on some of your earlier posts, including the RIP challenge. For movies, you might want to add Shelter Island to your Netflick queue if you haven’t already seen it. Wow! I thought it was fabulous. The plantings look lovely, by the way.

    • September 9, 2011 3:55 pm

      Junipers are not really good for much. I suppose they would make good protection, since they are covered in needles. But other than that… meh. I will definitely add Shutter Island, although I think I do already have it in the queue.

  5. September 9, 2011 7:34 pm

    i love the picture of chelsea and her dog friends. “nice to meet you, can i smell your butt?” “Sure, can i smell yours?” dogs are so funny.

  6. September 10, 2011 6:23 am

    I like the little garden by the road! It looks lovely now. Once upon a time long ago I had to weed around juniper bushes in our house in Vernon – they are great magnets for spiders. I can never look at any juniper bush again without shuddering. We have a huge cedar hedge around our house now, and it does the same thing- scratches whenever I try to go in the back of my garden! I love how you just cut off the tops of your bushes, were you a tad mad at them by then? lol

    • September 10, 2011 12:40 pm

      Yeah… they are going to be history. We hates them, we does.

Leave a Reply

